Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Water Pumps

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Hossbaby50, May 3, 2005.

1. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

Who makes a good water pump for the money? I need a new one and I want to get something that is of decent quality for a decent price. I have been running on the $20 Checker special for 3 years but now I want to get a pretty good pump and not have to worry about it as much.

Who makes a good pump? Thanks

Harley

2. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

hard to say...

We used to sell "Airtex" water and fuel pumps at the stores I worked at, in addition to the "A-1 Cardone" rebuilts..both brands had very few defectives or failures--if a garage was doing a water pump in a vehicle with a timimg belt and was leery of using a rebuilt pump,I'd send them the brand new
    Airtex" one instead of the cheaper rebuilts--we sold "Blue Chip" wayer pumps too,they were a 50/50 shot of getting a good one,but were popular due to the cheap price...cant say how good ANY brand is now!--that was 10 yeaes ago,many of those companies might not even exist today!(or if they do,they are probably making them in china or mexico,like everyone else.. :mad: )

Even if you go right to a GM dealer and get a genuine AC Delco one,chances are(good) its not american made!....

I put an Autozone 13.99 rebuilt water pump on my vans 307 I swapped in,because I feared the original pump (73!) would start leaking the day after I put the motor in,and its a bitch to install with the motor IN the van,so I bought the rebuilt pump...