Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Way heavy roll bar discussion

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by jeffer, Jun 29, 2001.

1. jeffer

jeffer 1/2 ton status

I have been looking at getting a rollbar for my '72 K5. I have looked at different places. Most offer the standard hoop 4 pt design. I had some questions about tubing size and thickness and wondered what is the best to go with. Just a little background here, I am an electrical engineer and asked a couple of the mechanical engineers that are buddies/coworkers of mine about this from a technical standpoint. I will list below my question and the response. It's pretty theoretical, but I found it interesting nonetheless and thought I would pass it along. I hope that someone is interested in this babble.

---------- My note the to the mechies --------
    Question: If I were to determine which of two tubes was a better support structure, how would I go about it? I'll just cut to the chase. I'm looking at roll bars. Bar #1 is 2.00" OD with a wall thickness of 0.120". Bar #2 is 1.75" OD with a wall thickness of 0.134". Now Bar #1 has a cross-sectional area of 0.7087 in^2, while Bar #2 has a cross sectional area of 0.6803 in^2.
    Now lets assume that the material is identical. Is it better to have a thicker tube (albeit with less material overall due to the smaller cross-sectional area) or the bigger diameter? Or, is there no real way to determine this empirically?

Thanks,

Jeff.

---------- The Response -----------

Tubes supporting a structure:
    Failure mode: column buckling.

Euler Column Buckling equation:

Pcr =
    (pi)^2*E*I
    ----------
    (Le)^2

where
    E = Modulus of Elasticity (fixed by material)
    I = moment of inertia of the cross section wrt the buckling-bending axis