Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Website got Hacked!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Sandman, Sep 12, 2002.

  1. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    They did a good job. They did'nt mess anything up, just set themselves up a virtual directory to move stuff around. The only way I noticed was the high constant traffic. The only way I found it was wading through the log files. I took it offline so maybe I can fix and guard against future same stuff. At least they didnt delete my videos. It was a pro job, Turned off all IIS services and shares and it was still handing out stuff.
     
  2. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Aha! I found the problem:

    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    ...IIS services...

    [/ QUOTE ]!!
     
  3. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,452
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    whats an IIS?
     
  4. ChevyHuny

    ChevyHuny 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Im so sorry to hear that. I know how it is to work really hard at something and I could only imagine having someone come in and ruin it all for me. I have protected my site the best way I know how but it seems like nothing is ever enough anymore. If someone wants something they will get it.

    I hope you get everything back to order. Maybe those jerks with get a life and find something better to do with their time. /forums/images/icons/mad.gif
     
  5. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I was using a spare computer and using my cable connection through a hardware firewall so serve my webpage. The only direct link that I had open was port 80 and the ftp port. I was using my own system so I could host videos and use Front Page extensions. I think I'm going to move the page over to my providers area and forget the videos. Oh, well.
     
  6. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    I was using a spare computer and using my cable connection through a hardware firewall so serve my webpage. The only direct link that I had open was port 80 and the ftp port. I was using my own system so I could host videos and use Front Page extensions.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    What you talkin' 'bout Willis!!!
     
  7. 4x4dreamer

    4x4dreamer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, FL
    IIS is so full of holes it's not even funny. Get rid of it.
     
  8. bobsurf

    bobsurf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Posts:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, CA
    Muddysub, IIS = Internet Information Server (I think).
     
  9. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I might do that. I just got my beta copy of SuSe 8.1 and I might give it a try. The same script runners that got me have also been hitting a guy I know that uses Linux. His access log files are an almost copy of mine. None of the hacking scripts work 'cause its all geared for windows. It also has a decent software firewall built into it.
     
  10. MudFrog

    MudFrog 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Posts:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daleville, Va
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    I was using my own system so I could host videos and use Front Page extensions.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Oh heck... I was gonna set mine up to do the same thing tonight. Guess I'll be holding off on IIS.
     
  11. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Your probobly OK as long as its not your main system. They didnt do any damage yet but I dont have anything on that box but the web page.
     

Share This Page