Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Welding frame-expert's advice needed

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by coyle13, Aug 3, 2004.

1. coyle13

coyle13 Registered Member

Welding frame-expert\'s advice needed

I was wondering if it would be o.k. to weld the steering box frame repair kit with .35 flux core wire with a Hobart 135? I am not a pro welder, but I took welding shop for 2 years in high school (a long time ago!) and I can lay a good bead with the wire feed unit. The weld-on kit says to use 100% CO2 and some non-flux core wire, but I have welded bumpers, towbars, shackle mounts, etc with the flux-core that have held up to hard use (so far). I am borrowing the welder from a friend, so I could get the suggested wire spool and co2 tank, but do I need to? I want the weld to last. Suggestions? /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif

2. garlicbreath

garlicbreath 1/2 ton status

Re: Welding frame-expert\'s advice needed

I have a "gasless" wirefeed and a mig welder and to say a picture is worth a thousand words couldn't apply better here. I won't use my fluc core welder on my own truck anymore. Now it is just a "loaner" tool. The way I think, if you can fix it tomorrow in 10 minutes, and it won't compromise anyones safety, then gamble, if not, DO IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME!

3. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

I would not use the weld patch no matter what size welder you have because it fits like crap, the hole centers are wrong, and generally it's just a bit piece of crap. I wish I never bought it, but I did, and installed it, and I've just got to live with it for now.

If you insist on installing it, the Hobart 135will do fine, the weld patch is about 3/16" thick. I'd imagine you could use .030" wire and still have good results.