Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

welding help please

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by smprider112, Aug 2, 2004.

1. smprider112

smprider112 1/2 ton status

Ok, so I need to weld up the seems on my truck, where it has been narrowed (uglychevy's old truck) All I have access to is an old stick welder...Im wondering will this do the trick? or is it too much? I have VERY little welding experience and therefore any and all help would be AWESOME /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif also what kind of rods should I buy to use?? I really need to get this thing welded, its only tacked up right now, and Im affraid the beds gonna come loose when im driving /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
    thanks for any help /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif

2. Muddytazz

Muddytazz 1 ton status

If its the bedsides or body panels, a stick welder is going to be way to much for it(you'll make lots of blow holes for ventilation tho) /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif

3. az-k5

az-k5 1/2 ton status

Use screws before a stick welder on body metal. It will make the same amount of holes, just a lot smaller holes.

4. smprider112

smprider112 1/2 ton status

crap...so Im pretty much screwed unless I can find a wire feed huh??

5. bowtiebstrd

bowtiebstrd Registered Member

see if you can rent one ... a lot of local shops often rent mig setups, i think even home depot rents 'em, but i don't know for sure.

6. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member