Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Welding Question!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by K5thatShmobs, Oct 9, 2002.

1. K5thatShmobs

K5thatShmobs 1/2 ton status

Im new to welding and I just bought a Craftsman 120V, 90amp wire-feed MIG welder. My first day I experimented with some pieces of scrap steel that I picked up @ the local steel mill. The pieces were clean, and I even grinded the surface area where I was welding and where the ground was clamped. But, no matter what, I could not get any saturation! Every bead I laid down was always losely attached to the surface, and never bonded or melted to anything. I tried different line speeds and different voltages, but still, no bonding whatsoever. Is this welder too weak? What am I doing wrong here, dammit? Heres a link to the welder and its specs... I would appreciate any help! Thanks.
    Welder Specs

2. txbluethunder

txbluethunder 1/2 ton status

what thickness where you trying to weld and what time of wire in the feed. unless its pretty thin stuff you'll have to take it really slow.

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Make sure you are going slow enough...travel speed is 50% of what makes the weld good or not. Make sure your 'stick-out' is within reason. 'Stick-out' is the distance from the end of the contact tip to the weld puddle itself. 3/8"-1/2" is about ideal.

It sounds like you're moving too quickly though.

Rene

4. Scuba Steve

Scuba Steve Registered Member