Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Welding Trouble!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by K5thatShmobs, Oct 9, 2002.

1. K5thatShmobs

K5thatShmobs 1/2 ton status

Im new to welding and I just bought a Craftsman 120V, 90amp wire-feed MIG welder. My first day I experimented with some pieces of scrap steel that I picked up @ the local steel mill. The pieces were clean, and I even grinded the surface area where I was welding and where the ground was clamped. But, no matter what, I could not get any saturation! Every bead I laid down was always losely attached to the surface, and never bonded or melted to anything. I tried different line speeds and different voltages, but still, no bonding whatsoever. Is this welder too weak? What am I doing wrong here, dammit? Heres a link to the welder and its specs... I would appreciate any help! Thanks.
    Link to welder

2. gmule

gmule 1/2 ton status

I'm not the best welder around probably not even considered a welder more of a buthcher. I have that welder What wire are you using?

You should be using ER70s-6 0.30 wire with a 75/20 argon o2 mix

If you are using the flux wire you need to reconfigure the the polarity of the transformer. If you look under the cover that houses the wire there are directions for changing the polarity. depending on what wire you are using.
    I have welded up to 3/16ths steel with mine and as long as I go slow I can get a good burn with it.

3. florida4x4

florida4x4 1/2 ton status

Sorry to say but that welder is the problem. It just dont have enuf juice to do much more than sheet metal. Use .024 wire, turn up the heat and play with the fire feed till it looks good (although flux core will never look very goot). If you can return it and get something with at least 130A/20% duty cycle you will be happier.

4. tRustyK5