Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Welding

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 87BrnRsd, Sep 28, 2003.

1. 87BrnRsd

87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

I have a project going on my 87 K5. Im putting in a 14ff, echobit shackle flip, new front springs, a new driveshaft, and hopefully many more mods in the future. Anyways, knowing that I will be doing a lot of work on my truck, I bought a welder yesterday from a friend. It is a miller electric, thunderbolt 225v arc welder. I am new to the world of welding and want to know some basics. How long will it take for me to actually start producing welds that will hold? One of my first projects with the welder will be to create rock sliders. Later, after I get a tube bender, I plan on making a cage for my truck. Anyways, does anyone have any advice on using an arc welder that might help me. I cant start welding with it until I wire up a 220v outlet in my garage, but that should happen soon. Let me know what yall have learned from your experiences welding on what not and what to do. Thanks. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    -Harrison

2. Orange Crush

Orange Crush 1/2 ton status Premium Member