Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Well I blew my budget BIG TIME

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by doonjumper, Apr 5, 2001.

1. doonjumper

doonjumper 1/2 ton status

Ive been saving to build up my D60 and 14 bolt for about 11 months. I bought the set 11 months ago and I ordered the parts a week ago. Arb front, Detroit rear with 4.88's, rancho 9000 dual in cab kit,crossover steering,Agr pump and box, ORU diff covers, and Rock Rod. Then five days ago my engine blew. My wife thinks I did something to it. I swear I didn't. Know I have to build an engine. I ordered the parts today for a 383 stroker. I 'm building the 383 with alluminum edelbrock heads and am going to top it off with a Tunned port injection system (actually the stroker and TPI were her idea I just wanted to put a crate motor in.) And because of the extra HP I'll have to buy a trani pan that holds more oil to keep it cool and an engine oil cooler. So as you can see I have exceeded my budget. Good thing that I'm, oh, I mean were getting back some dough from uncle sam.

2. solowookie

solowookie 1/2 ton status

This must be someone after my own heart... :) Had my blazer 2 weeks, and so far I've spent about $1800 on upgrades.

Wonder what the next 2 MONTHS wil bring... :)

Jeff

3. doonjumper

If you want to save money sell it cause thats where it will go. So far these mods I'm up around $11,000

4. Wheels

Wheels 1/2 ton status

I looked at your profile and your running a 700R4 in a 73, what kind of t-case are you running? If you put and extra capacity pan on the tranny, you'll need to check the front drive shaft clearance. Put an exra cooler on it.

5. doonjumper