Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

were to hook this wire up for tach?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bryguy00b, May 10, 2003.

  1. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    i got the red black green and white wires for my tach. i know were they all go...but were should i plug the light one in..(white)..its suppost to go to the dummer switch or something like a dash light, does any one know what wire i should splice it to or some place in the fuse block that would work? thanx
     
  2. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    I hooked mine in with the fuse for the dash lights. Now if i dim the dash lights, the tach light dims with it.
     
  3. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I wired mine into the fuse block where it says headlights/instrument panel if I remember correctly.
     
  4. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Mine tach is mounted down by my transfer case shifter, so this probably won't help any. But I just hooked that wire into the wire coming from the dash to the light in the tcase shifter so you can see what position the tcase is in. I also have my trans temp gauge mounted there too so they are both hooked up to the same line. When the lights are dimmed the tach dims too.
     
  5. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    theres a light there? i didnt know that! ill have to pop the shifter cover and look..guess mine dont work..also noticed my 4x4 indicater light in the dash dont work wear shoud i look for that? thanx guys!
     
  6. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    There is on my 85 with 208.
     
  7. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    welo i have an 86 with 208 so..
     

Share This Page