Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What altenator???????????????

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Jays Beast, Aug 12, 2003.

  1. Jays Beast

    Jays Beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Posts:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Alternator is acting wierd so before its dead want to replace it with a higher amp one. Considering installing a 140 amp CS144 alternator, or would it be better to rebuild my current one(cs130) with this kit http://www.alternatorparts.com/7130_7140%20.htm
    Also what would need to be done to my current system to run the higher amperage(battery cables,etc....) /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    Thanks Jay
     
  2. Jays Beast

    Jays Beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Posts:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
  3. Greenie

    Greenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glendale Arizona
    why do you think the alternator is going bad. I have and 89 also, 5.7. same as yours. I have gone through about 1 alternator every 18 months. They are junk, even upgraded ones. They still have the same bearings, that is usually what goes bad. I live in Glendale AZ, just down the road a piece, heat is a killer. I off road on a regular basis, I would think the heat and the dust don't help.
    I have 100 watt hella high beams and driving lights and never have a problem.Even at low speeds. I go to Crown King and come back at night, the alt is working hard, but still puts out enough.
     
  4. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Is there any local guys that rebuild starters and altenator ?? Give one of them a call and see if they can build a high output unit for you. Also ask what kind of warenty they offer. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. Jays Beast

    Jays Beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Posts:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    When running with NO A/C, around town or on highway the voltage is at 13+, with A/C ON voltage drops down to about 10.5 or so. Also have a big lose in power with a/c running I believe do the drop in voltage fuel pump, iginition, injectors are all affected by voltage drops. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gifIf anyone knows of anything I missing that could cause lose of power and voltage drop when running the a/c, please let me now. Thanks Jay
     
  6. Jays Beast

    Jays Beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Posts:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif TTT /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  7. TrcksR4ME

    TrcksR4ME 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA 98103
    I dont know if they are better, but you could try a Powermaster altenator, thats what I am putting in...when I get around to it.

    Also, loss in power could just be the extra effort to run the A/C. Altenators in my experience work, or don't work anymore, usually not much in between. And I never trust a voltmeter guage to show me whats going on, try a voltmeter on the battery with the engine off, running, and with A/C on to see whats going on /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page