Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What are you all doing for guage setups?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mtrdrms, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. mtrdrms

    mtrdrms 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Torrington, CT
    I want to get some 2 1/16" autometers to go in the stock bezel but I heard it was tough to do. I also found some good deals on stock guage setups on ebay. What are you guys doing? Pics if you got em.
     
  2. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    just went through this. i beleive my gauges are 2 5/8 though. the other ones were to small for the stock locations.

    here are some pics. i recommend investing in a roto zip. it saved my life on this project

    gauge.jpg

    gauge1.jpg

    gauge2.jpg

    gauge3.jpg
     
  3. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    No pics yet , but I did the exact same thing to the project truck . With 2 1/16 gauges I didn't have to trim anything , just stuck them in and used the clamps that came with them . They stick out just a hair , and with the cluster lens cut on the gauge side , fit right over the white plastic cluster and the wires and hoses go right out the lamp holes :grin:
     
  4. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    would like to see some pics when you get them. my 2 1/16 stuck out a lot without cutting the tube at the back of the bezel
     
  5. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,536
    Likes Received:
    533
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    small ones are 2 5/16 size fit great and big are 5" size. autometer phantoms

    gauge cluster 104.jpg

    gauge cluster 105.jpg

    gauge cluster 108.jpg

    phantom dash 101.jpg

    phantom dash 103.jpg
     
  6. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ

    right on , thats the size. 2 5/16
     
  7. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    I'll try to get some pics when I get home . They are off brand gauges , but same 2 1/16 cup size :k5: :k5:
     
  8. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    How do you get it to pass smog? I need to retain the message area under the gas gauge for inspection purposes.... :mad:
     
  9. suthrnchvyguy89

    suthrnchvyguy89 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    charleston, sc
    doesnt pro comp make a set that replaces the huge gas guage with a tach and puts the fuel guage in the empty spot?
     
  10. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    This my low buck gauge setup , I have not much into it .

    1. 70's cluster , got with the gauges I bought off ebay to repair my 83's temp gauge . I like this cluster piece , it has a big hole for the original oil gauge hose to go through , I think everything could go through there .

    2. 83 dash bezel , came with my rusty 83 ( I have 2 83's , one dead , one nice kinda ) which gets a 78 tub this week . I also have an 83 gas gauge if I need the unleaded fuel only script on the 78 tub .

    3. $9.99 Harbor freight gauges bought Friday ( saw their flyer ) . And at that price if they break , I don't care . I have a stock mech oil for in case :grin:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  11. AkMudr

    AkMudr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Posts:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    I dont have any pics because my work doesnt look any different than anyone elses. I just got done cutting my instr. panel to fit 2 5/8 AutoMeter gauges. I ran a dremel around every "cup" inside the stock panel and just smoothed each hole down so the whole thing looked flat, then used a fat sandin wheel and went around the opening just a tad, the 2 5/8's gauges all slid right into place, no fancy hand work, just a cut off wheel, fat sander wheel and 30 minutes I was done.
     
  12. Yukon Jack

    Yukon Jack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Posts:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rose Hill, KS
    Here are the gauges I have in my 69. I have swapped the speedo to the otherside since taking this pic.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page