Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What can be done to a 305 to make it better.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by y5mgisi, Oct 30, 2004.

  1. y5mgisi

    y5mgisi 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Posts:
    17,156
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Could you use like a 350 crank or a 400 crank and make a strocker out of it? Can they be board out real big? Just was wandering if i was ever to build one what to do with it.
    So lets here it /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif
     
  2. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Get a 350.

    305's don't have alot of options. they can be stroked to something like 331. They are not power houses and won't ever really be one. 350's are plentiful and cheap to build. They are more cubes and have more potential.

    Harley
     
  3. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Replace it with a 350 or larger engine. IIRC, the 305 and the 350 have the same stroke, just different bore.
     
  4. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Get a 350.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    I concur.
     
  5. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Wow y'all beat me to it.

    Replace it with something with a larger bore. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,577
    Likes Received:
    943
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    Yeah,like a 454!!--or a 500 Caddy!! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    The 305 I put in my 79 C10 is pretty peppy,but putting a load of wood in the bed the other day made me think the 250 six was still in it!.It goes like hell empty though!.
    You could get better performance by changing the rear end gears to a lower ratio,like 4.10's instead of 3.08's,and still be able to drive it at highway speeds--my friend did this to his C-10 pickup,he put a 14 bolt FF axle in it that had 4.10's and replaced the 12 bolt 3.08 axle--he couldnt believe the improvement in acceleration-and he can now smoke the rear tires now,before it would have to be on ice or sand to get them to spin.He also said his gas mileage is only slightly worse at high speeds,and it actually gets better mileage around town than before(his truck has a 700R4 tranny in it).If your motor runs good,this may be a cheaper option than swapping in a bigger motor,or trying to hop up the 305--. /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  7. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    If its all thats you have , and it is running , run it until you can go 350 . If you have a motor in your rig and the 305 is lying around , run what you have until you can afford something else and use the 305 as a core trade in . My 305 works , so I just change the oil a lot and run it until I can build the 350 I have access to . /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  8. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    I had a 305 years ago with a Comp cam, Camaro heads, and 9.5:1 compression. It made good horsepower below 4,500 RPM, and it's a long story why I used it--but it did work very well.

    My current, mostly stock 350 is very similar in power output though.
     
  9. fad2blk99

    fad2blk99 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Tie it to a rope and use it for a boat anchor /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  10. rodzzilla

    rodzzilla 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grinnell, IA
    There are stroker kits available. I think w/overbore they come in around 334. (Can't remember the exact 305 bore, so I didn't compute the exact. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif) It will definately give you more torque. Will it be enoguh for you...? There is something to be said for making do w/what you have.
     
  11. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    I had a 305 years ago with a Comp cam, Camaro heads, and 9.5:1 compression. It made good horsepower below 4,500 RPM, and it's a long story why I used it--but it did work very well.


    [/ QUOTE ]

    Except for the cam , mine is simmilar , haeds and compression wise is what mine is ( I saved original heads though for some reason ) . It works great , and is staying in there as long as I need it . I did find a 350 bottom end that I can go through after I get it home /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  12. RustBuket

    RustBuket 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Posts:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    I have a 305 in my blazer and I find its not nearly enough for 5500lb truck. I think if it were in a camaro or something it'd be great...but its not. It has a Performer intake and headers with 2.25" dual exhaust and its pretty darn gutless. Can't brake torque, most of the time I can't spin on gravel.... /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif I'm looking to buy a car with a blown sb to put my 305 in and resell the car to make some profit to buy a 350 with an eagle 383 stroker kit! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. CyberSniper

    CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    Eh... 305s suck. You can get decent power out of them but it isn't truck power.

    I mustered 190hp@5600 at the rubber. It doesn't start moving until ~3200rpm and has gone aenemic at 6000. It'll barely turn 33" TSLs at 70mph in overdrive with 3.42 gears (around 2000rpm).

    It certainly makes a lot more power than my 350 did but it doesn't have the low-end power that the 350 did. It's still 100x better than my 305 was stock but it's also making twice the power.

    I doubt you could ever get more than 300hp out of a 305 without aftermarket heads. Ported-to-piss truck heads flow about as good as a decent 350 head. Sticking 350 heads allows the head to flow more but the valves are shrouded by the cylinder.
     
  14. 86chevybanshee

    86chevybanshee 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    beverly MA
    my old truck had a 305 with a performer intake and headers and i could roast my 38's all day long, it could have been cuz of the 4.10's tho /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  15. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Yours must of been dying . Mine will move the truck allright with 3.08's , with the new 3.73's its awesome , and that with a 700r4 and 33's . I am going 350 later and 383 someday when the stars align /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  16. fad2blk99

    fad2blk99 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    You could build one but why?
     
  17. scrappyk5

    scrappyk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Posts:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    virginia
    my 305 in my 1984 is from a 1987. it has the carb from the 1984 , and i think it does fine. i have plenty of pep and i am running 35's and 3:73's and i am happy.
    i had a 1978 camaro that had a 305 in it. i stuck a weiend
    dual plane manifold on it with a holly 600 and headman headers. she moved out pretty good.
     
  18. Ruthven13

    Ruthven13 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Posts:
    664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fair Verona
    The best thing about the Chevy 305 is that they are easily replaceable by something bigger. The only things I would add to a 305 are intake, headers, and maybe a MSD ignition. That way all the parts you buy can be used on the 350 you get when you realize that the 305 still isn't making any power /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  19. fad2blk99

    fad2blk99 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    good point
     
  20. kyser_soze

    kyser_soze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC Missouri
    IF you realy want to pep up your 305 try a set of vortec heads comp cam and the edelbrok fuel injected tbi IF you really want to you could also use these on that 350 you build in the meantime. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     

Share This Page