Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What do ya think about this truss

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sean'schevy, Mar 30, 2005.

1. sean'schevy

sean'schevy 1/2 ton status

Heres some pics of a axle truss my friend and I made. Now thats its made im not to sure about it. I do run mud some times and i think this would just be a big mud catcher. However i do think it would be a good place to mount my ram to when i do High steer and possible future 4 link in front. Another thing i wanted to ask is what odo you think about welding this to a 60. Would you to it to yours as you can see it would have to be welded to the pumpkin and the housing. I am a preety good welder but if i weld to the cast will the truss be on there good enough to run 4 link tabs off in the future. Also i was considering contining the truss to the other part of tghe axle as well if i continued with this route. So what the overall opinion guys. ps sorry for big pics having problems uploading them to ck5

2. PhoenixZorn

PhoenixZorn 1/2 ton status

If you cap the ends, I don't see how it would be any more of a mud catcher than the axle itself... yeah, some mud will stick to the sides, but it's not going to weigh you down so much that you can't move anymore...

3. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

How thick is the plate? I'd angle it down towards the spring pad(but leave room to go farther out the axle like you talked about). Triangles are stronger than squares. Yeah it will become a plow in deep mud but if you feel you need a truss(jumping or 4 linking) its a good idea. As for welding to the axle. Time is the key. Preheat the area, keep a good welding blanket around and when you are done, cover it with the blanket nice and tight so it cools very slowly.