Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What does or doesn't need an adapter?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 91gmcjimmyCH_IL, Oct 9, 2003.

  1. 91gmcjimmyCH_IL

    91gmcjimmyCH_IL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Posts:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grayslake, IL
    What does or doesn\'t need an adapter?

    Is there a good website that has the information about what trans and t-cases need adapters. I ask because I am looking for powertrain options. I know I want to get rid of my 700r4(Broken) and replace it with something stronger. I do however wish to keep my np241 with SYE. I am clueless when it comes to what does or doesn't need adapters. Maybe there should be a chart or maybe I should have poked around some more. Any help would be /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif appreciated.
     
  2. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Re: What does or doesn\'t need an adapter?

    No matter what transmission you have, you need an adapter to bolt to your transfer case. For you, the only way you can continue to use your transfer case is to use a TH 350 or 700R4. If you choose to change to a TH 350 you will probably need the TH 350 to NP 208 adapter.
     
  3. MTBLAZER89

    MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    7,272
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Re: What does or doesn\'t need an adapter?

    You can also run a TH400/208 or 241. There are some out there that came that way, or if you can find a 208 or 241 with a 32 spline input.
     
  4. MOABDADC22

    MOABDADC22 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Posts:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheyenne, Wy
    Re: What does or doesn\'t need an adapter?

    A th350 and th700r4 actually use the same adapter. Both transmissions share the same bolt pattern on the adapter. You will have to check the output shaft length on the two and ensure that they are the same. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. KRAZIE87K5

    KRAZIE87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Re: What does or doesn\'t need an adapter?

    You need to find yourself a 400/208 or 400/241 combo out there. You'll need to swap the input in the 241 up to accept the larger 400 output... but its all worth it!

    Otherwise, you can fetch a few hundred for a 241 w/SYE! /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif I'd guess $300-350!

    Just my .02!

    -Dan
     
  6. 91gmcjimmyCH_IL

    91gmcjimmyCH_IL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Posts:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grayslake, IL
    Re: What does or doesn\'t need an adapter?

    Thank you all very much! One other thing is that is it generally exepted that a 400 is better than a 350?
     
  7. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Re: What does or doesn\'t need an adapter?

    Yep.
     

Share This Page