Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what is bandwidth?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by colbystephens, Feb 8, 2007.

  1. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    and why is it suddenly low on my computer? how do i fix it?
     
  2. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Bandwidth generally refers to the data transmission capacity and rates...DSL low bandwidth (I think it is like 128k uploads?) and my OC3 at work...mucho bandwidth...

    The little fireroad I take to get to my "secret" Blazer testing ground that everybody knows about has low bandwidth, only one truck can fit through there at once. The 405 S. Freeway in LA has huge bandwidth, and can handle lots and lots of Blazers at once.
     
  3. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    ok, so i'm trying to watch abc tv shows on their website. this has worked for me in the past, why won't it work now? we share internet with a couple other guys, but only one might be on the net at the moment... any ideas?
     
  4. UseYourBlinker

    UseYourBlinker 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Posts:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    .
    To much porn on the computer.
     
  5. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    ummmmm..... no. none, actually. next please.
     
  6. UseYourBlinker

    UseYourBlinker 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Posts:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    .
    :doah: That's all I got .. Too much tech in here.
     
  7. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Bandwidth is the amount of data that can flow through your network connection. Think of it as a hose. If you need more flow, you have to increase the diameter of the hose (because the "pressure" can't be changed,) which means that you have to pay your network service provider for a faster connection.

    If one of the folks you share the connection with is using a lot of the bandwidth, then there won't be enough left to keep your video stream flowing.

    However, sometimes the problem is really somewhere further down the line. If you're on a cable modem, you and your neighbors may be using up all of the bandwidth that is avavilable for your segment of the network. Cable systems share bandwidth across a large area. DSL systems provide you with all of the bandwidth that you're paying for, regardless of what the neighbors are doing.

    It's also possible that the ABC servers, routers, or bandwidth are overwhelmed with too much traffic (i.e. Too many people trying to watch at the same time). If their service got popular quicker than they expected, then they have to upgrade things on their end to meet the demand.
     
  8. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    ahhh, thanks! that was helpful.
     
  9. kgillyk5

    kgillyk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fultonville, NY USA
    Here's a cool utility. Just enter the site that you are having trouble with and you will get a trace route of all the hops along the path and their response time. Very handy. The trial is free...probobly a time bomb type application untill you pay.

    http://www.snapfiles.com/features/vroute-803-480208.php

    [​IMG]
     
  10. mr.smartass

    mr.smartass 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    10,860
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS
    The GF was trying to watch Grey's Anatomy on their site the other day but couldn't get it to work due to the same message. It had worked before so I had to explain that it wasn't working because my cousin had his laptop going on the wireless... I gave up after a little while lol. Luckily you got it the first go round :waytogo: .
     
  11. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    hard to say exactly whats up? did she get an error message?



    as already said, bandwidth is a term for the speed of your internet connection.
     
  12. RockinChevy

    RockinChevy 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Exactly how do you guys watch television on the internet???? I've never heard of this until this thread came up. I just tried a minute ago and all I'm getting is programming schedules....
     
  13. thezentree

    thezentree 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Posts:
    7,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    I think HarryH3 knows everything.
     
  14. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    for instance, go to abc.com and there's a link in the middle of the page to watch episodes of tv. it's streaming and it has only a couple commercials. you can watch all the episodes that have already aired for this season of any of the prime-time abc shows.
     
  15. RockinChevy

    RockinChevy 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Hmmmmm.. I'll check it out.. thanks Colby
     
  16. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    LOL!! It's just that I spent over 20 years in the computer biz working for Digital Equipment Corp, Compaq, and Oracle. A little bit of that knowledge remains stuck in my noggin' :doah:
     
  17. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    wow digital.


    Don't see that name around anymore.

    what kind of stuff have you dont with compaq and oracle?
     
  18. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Digital is gone... At one time they were the 2nd largest computer company in the world, only to IBM. But alas, the founder is infamous for telling a reporter once that he didn't see ANY reason that a person would want to have a computer in their home... :doah: So when the PC took off, guess who didn't make one? :rolleyes: Digital did try to jump into the market, but it was too late. Around 1998, Compaq purchased Digital, mainly to get a strong foothold in the services side of the business. (Hardware sales only gererate income the day that they're sold. Services generate a long term, steady stream of income that's also MUCH more profitable that hardware sales).

    I was in field service, then service delivery for global projects. Did a LOT of travelling (40-45 weeks a year on the road). :eek1: I also managed a help desk that provided support for NBC TV and other GE Capital businesses. Over at Oracle I did tech support and project management. If customers had any idea how bad that place operates, the would delete all Oracle apps from their systems. :wink1:
     

Share This Page