Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what is needed for elec choke?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by xnoahx, Aug 29, 2001.

  1. xnoahx

    xnoahx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura, CA 93004
    ok, i have an opportunity to get an edelbrock 1904 q-jet with the electric choke. I am wondering what i will need to use the choke. is all i have to do just supply power or are there other tings i will need for it to work properly? right now i just have the manifold mounted choke.

    Check out my 73 K5 <a target="_blank" href=http://members.theglobe.com/xnoahx/73k5.htm>http://members.theglobe.com/xnoahx/73k5.htm</a>
     
  2. xnoahx

    xnoahx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura, CA 93004
    BTT

    Check out my 73 K5 <a target="_blank" href=http://members.theglobe.com/xnoahx/73k5.htm>http://members.theglobe.com/xnoahx/73k5.htm</a>
     
  3. Blazer1970

    Blazer1970 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Old Mission, MI
    Basically you just need a 12V source that is hot in the "run" key position, and not hot in the "accessory" position. If you really want to do it right, you would install an oil pressure switch in series with the power, so that the choke is not powered unless the engine is really running. Most people do not use the oil pressure switch, and it is not necessary if you don't let the truck sit with the key in "run" with the motor off. If the carb does not come with the electrical connector for the choke, you can get one at your local parts store in the "HELP" section.

    Tim

    70 Blazer CST 4X4 350 SM465 NP205
    87 Burb 4X4 350
    01 GMC 2500HD 4X4 Duramax/Allison
     
  4. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    As blazer1970 said 12 volts hot with key, and also a ground. Some run the ground to a bolt on the carb, but I have "heard" that it is best to run it to a bolt hole on the back of the head or intake bolt (usually requires a longer ground than supplied). I have seen some that run the ground to the carb and work, and that's what I did (and it works), but I have been told that running it to the head is a better grounding source, for what it's worth.

    See my rig at <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Leadfoot>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Leadfoot</a>
     
  5. Blazer1970

    Blazer1970 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Old Mission, MI
    Factory Q-Jet electric chokes do not use a ground wire. The connector has one wire for the 12V.

    Tim

    70 Blazer CST 4X4 350 SM465 NP205
    87 Burb 4X4 350
    01 GMC 2500HD 4X4 Duramax/Allison
     
  6. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Yep. Any of the Electric choke equipped V8 cars or trucks from Gm should have the pressure switch. Should be easy to find in the wrecking yard.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    No anti-theft measures on your truck? No pity when its stolen
     

Share This Page