Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what is needed to mount a big block rad

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ramjet gmc, Sep 4, 2003.

  1. ramjet gmc

    ramjet gmc CK5 Staff Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milltown NJ 08850 NJ sucks
    what is needed to mount a big block rad in to a 89 front end /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif i think it is extra thick ?
     
  2. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,088
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    I just did this 2 nights ago, I pulled the OE 3 row out of my 91 crew cab and put a 4 row rad in. My 3 row had 2 small brackets hold the top of the rad, the 4 row has one long plate that runs the length of the rad. The 4 rubber mounts are different, but my hoses all worked fine.

    The only problem I had was my fan shroud. The original one wouldn't readily bolt up so I will either have to modify it or find another. Until then I'm driving without a shroud and (ironically) it runs hotter now than ever before. /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif
     
  3. j20m715

    j20m715 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Murphy,Tx
    That shroud makes a big difference.
     
  4. j20m715

    j20m715 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Murphy,Tx
    I dont have the part # for the 4 rubber mounts, but I do have them for the shroud & upper mount if you like.
     
  5. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Who's part numbers are they? Where would such parts need to be purchased?
     
  6. j20m715

    j20m715 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Murphy,Tx
    [ QUOTE ]
    Who's part numbers are they? Where would such parts need to be purchased?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    The part #'s are GM & you can order them online or buy they at the dealer.
     
  7. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Who's part numbers are they? Where would such parts need to be purchased?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    The part #'s are GM & you can order them online or buy they at the dealer.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    some dealer parts dept ppl are retarded and dont know how to look up parts and will say that the brackets are all the same 5 through 30 series, talk to a different parts counter person if the one you are talking to says the same thing, the above happened to me in this 15k population town with only one GM dealer
     
  8. greybeard

    greybeard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I did this on my 91 quite some time ago. The GM part numbers are.....

    upper metal bracket - p/n 14018600
    rubber pads (need 4) - p/n 6264100
    shroud - p/n 14021289

    It all bolts right up.
     
  9. And I got my 4 core at AutoZone for 170 bux I think P/N 433730.
     
  10. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    That P/N isn't coming up on AutoZone.com /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    What app would I ask for to get that 4-core rad?
     
  11. greybeard

    greybeard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Try looking up a 1987 Chevy Suburban 3/4 ton 2WD with the 454 TBI and the automatic. I just checked and it comes up with the 433730 part number ($159.99). Like Bigburb, I also used the Autozone rad. GDI 4 core. Works great!
     
  12. That's it !!!
     
  13. jwduke

    jwduke 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Posts:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ice Cream Capital of the World, IA.
    [ QUOTE ]
    what is needed to mount a big block rad in to a 89 front end /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif i think it is extra thick ?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Go to a good radiator shop, that sells Modine radiators. They can do cross reference on it, for one that is a bolt right in fit, for $167.00 That is what I did, for my '87.
     
  14. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    OK cool, it's either my laptop has a dislike of AutoZone.com, or a keyboard actuator error.

    I'm betting on the latter... /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     

Share This Page