Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What is the pan that sits behind the oil pan?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by m1ndless, Mar 5, 2007.

1. m1ndless

m1ndless Banned

I was changing my oil today,and whatever the pan is that is just behind that is leaking oil or something, each screw is covered in wet oil and the pan itself is also covered in oil.

I just bought this truck and started getting into cars and how they work, so I am a big noob, but give me a break :)

Any Ideas how to stop the leak-age?

2. 4xcrazy

4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

from front to back,,,,,oil pan,,,,torque convertor cover, and then trans pan

3. m1ndless

m1ndless Banned

Well its definetly not the oil pan, its about 5 inches back from the oil pan and its square about 12 inches long maybe? I might just have to take a pic of it?

4. Can Can

Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

Based on your description I'm gonna assume it your tranny pan. What tranny/TC combo is in your truck?

Chances are you need a new tranny pan gasket. Is the leak coming from around the pan, or can it be traced to somewhere further up on the tranny body itself? What color is the fluid?

5. m1ndless

m1ndless Banned

It looks like just dark brown / black liquid, almost like motor oil. Its all over the bottom of the pan and the screws and such. I cleaned it up a little but its still dripping slowly. I will just have to get back under and investigate.

6. 85mudbogger

85mudbogger 1/2 ton status

its your tranny pan, take it to a pro, not something a noob should mess with, while its dropped put a new filter in it, sealing a tranny pan is a pita even for a diy wheeler(atleast for me i like crankin the bolts lol) and if it starts to leak again they should fix it for free

7. m1ndless

m1ndless Banned