Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What is the TV cable

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by gokartergo, Mar 6, 2001.

  1. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Please help. What exactly is the tv cable on a 700r4. And what does it do. My 700r4 was rebuilt about 7000 miles ago and worked great. I went from 32 to 33 inch tires and it seems to have a problem going into 4th. Do I have to adjust something? I do only have 3.08 gears and am planing on going to 4.56 next month. In the mean time I don't want to screw any thing up. I don't put it into 4th untill around 60 mph. But I don't now what it does. Thanks for any help.

    Become one with nature.............Then marinate it..
     
  2. coopertwpk

    coopertwpk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Posts:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spring Valley Lake Ca.
    throttle valve cable tells the trans how deep your foots into the gas ,the 3.08 will tear up the tranny if you run it in overdrive your rpms are way to low .

    88k5 silverado w4"lift soon to have <font color=orange>d44 and corp14ff</font color=orange> with 4.56s
     
  3. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yup... Copper said it. 3.08's suck canal water. I have them in my blazer it won't shift till about 60 and even then it lugs like heck. I would run it in 3rd or reg D. That is what I'm doing till I get done w/ my 4.10 diffs.

    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
     
  4. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    That is what I am doing. But it did not do this with the 32 on.
     
  5. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    The extra inch can mean alot. It is just making the rpms drop even more... probably about 200 rpm... Heck I have 31's and the 3.08's are hurt'n me...so no doubt the 33's are gonna be killer. I really get going on the gears LOL... think they will make the truck, your tranny, and you much happier [​IMG]

    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
     
  6. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    1 other thing. Put a good trans cooler on your rig. TH700s do not like heat.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://jamonline.homestead.com/fromthegroundupK54x4/89Jimmy.html>http://jamonline.homestead.com/fromthegroundupK54x4/89Jimmy.html</A>
    <font color=blue>Happy Trails[​IMG]</font color=blue>
    <font color=blue>Wayne</font color=blue>
     
  7. RLBstein

    RLBstein 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Posts:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL
    In response to your question about a TV cable. From what I've read it's what controls the transmission fluid pressure in you tranny and the pressure is controlled by your throttle position. The cable runs from your trans to a bracket near your throttle. If your having shifting problems you can adjust it. My trans book said to push in the button (real hard) and move your throttle to the wide open position and release the button, then the throttle. You can see the cable move into the button thingy (sorry can't think of the name). After I did it to mine, it started shifting somewhat normally. Mine wouldn't shift until about 4000 rpms and this fixed it. I might have to adjust it again because now it seems to shift too quick, not like its a problem right now, but I would like to use more of each gear without having to keep the gas pedal down.

    85 Blazer on an 82 chassis, 6.2L Diesel, ORD flip, 35's with no cutting on a 4" lift.
     
  8. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    It's pretty much what everyone else has said on here. A tranny cooler is a great thing to put on it. It needs it! I shoulda come with it from the factory! If you do have to replace your tranny again, go with a very late '80's or early '90's overdrive tranny. They were a little more solid. But you do need to change the gears or it'll tear up quickly if you're using overdrive. Until you can change the gears, I would stay out of OD

    [​IMG] Keep your feet dry [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com>http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  9. riz

    riz 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2000
    Posts:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    <font color=purple> With the TV cable can't you get skinemax ? Ooops, I guess that would be cable TV ...... hahahaha !

    L8r,
    . Riz . <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/rizmonkey>http://www.geocities.com/rizmonkey</A>

    [​IMG]
     
  10. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Skinemax... Is that sorta like the Spank-o-vision that they have in hotel rooms these days? [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
     
  11. riz

    riz 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2000
    Posts:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    <font color=purple> I wouldn't know. I just heard some things. Hahaha !

    L8r,
    . Riz . <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/rizmonkey>http://www.geocities.com/rizmonkey</A>

    [​IMG]
     
  12. SAVAGE1

    SAVAGE1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BAY AREA, CA
    I have an 85 with a 700r4 but it only shifts 3 times and doesn't go into OD. Is this a TV cable adjustment problem?
     
  13. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    I see we have a comedian! Ha ha!!!

    [​IMG] Keep your feet dry [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com>http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  14. riz

    riz 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2000
    Posts:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    <font color=purple> Take your Blazer to any tranny shop, they'll adjust it for you at no charge ....... then you'll know it's right on.

    I try to add some humor every now and then..... guilty !

    L8r,
    . Riz . <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/rizmonkey>http://www.geocities.com/rizmonkey</A>

    [​IMG]
     
  15. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    Why don't you get The Dish Network! ha ha! I crack myself up!

    [​IMG] Keep your feet dry [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com>http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  16. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    The tranny lines run into the radiator isn't that enough. Or do I need a cooler also.
     

Share This Page