Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what is this thing and do i need it???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by twoslo4five0, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. twoslo4five0

    twoslo4five0 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Posts:
    6,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Living in a dump, VA
    Im about to put my 14 bolt in the back...i noticed this bracket on the 14bsf what is it and do i need it???

    Picture 116.jpg
     
  2. MTChevy

    MTChevy 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    its a weight dealie, when you get weight in the bed the valve changes position and the braking is proportioned differently.
     
  3. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    by-pass it. i have one on my k30 and its messed up so the brakes dont work as much as they are suposed to. im planning to get rid of mine.
     
  4. twoslo4five0

    twoslo4five0 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Posts:
    6,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Living in a dump, VA
    so do i need it for my disc brake conv...
     
  5. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,547
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    please recycle the complete unit to the trash. thay suck.

    replum the line from the master to the hose and be done with it.
     
  6. twoslo4five0

    twoslo4five0 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Posts:
    6,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Living in a dump, VA
    cany i just take the lil braket off and leave it alone or will it not work???
     
  7. DaPlumber

    DaPlumber 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Posts:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Holland Oh.
    NO, by-pass it!!!
     
  8. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    dont need one bit of it. it was a stupid idea, never really worked right. trash it
     
  9. twoslo4five0

    twoslo4five0 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Posts:
    6,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Living in a dump, VA
    lil help there...do i have to make brake lines to bypass it???i know very little about rear brakes so any help would be usefull...
     
  10. twoslo4five0

    twoslo4five0 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Posts:
    6,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Living in a dump, VA
    also any pics of the bypass that has been done would help alot...
     
  11. DaPlumber

    DaPlumber 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Posts:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Holland Oh.
    If you tow with it, Is a good thing to have!!
     
  12. dhcomp

    dhcomp 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    9,862
    Likes Received:
    293
    Location:
    Truckee, CA
    If it works properly, its good to have....but if you are going to disk, i would get rid of it for sure.

    Just get some sort of a brake line to bypass it.
     
  13. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,547
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    like i said replum it. stupid simple. one line in and instead of going to the valve it goes to the hose like it was never there. blead the breaks and be done.
     

Share This Page