Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what kinda trany do i have?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by vw62rag, Jul 7, 2004.

1. vw62rag

vw62rag Registered Member

i have jus got a 85 gmc jimmy and was assuming it had a th350 trans(the guy that sold it to me said it did) but i went to put a new filter n gasket on it and the oil pan is a square shape? i always thought a th350 had a pan that looked like a square with one corner hacked off.......? im a newbie /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

2. fortcollinsram

fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

th700r4

Chris

3. RaisedK5

RaisedK5 1/2 ton status

4. vw62rag

vw62rag Registered Member

COOL! thanks for the fast help! is this a good trany? i have a th400 out of a 3/4 suburban, should i consider swaping them?

5. mechted

mechted 1 ton status Premium Member

My understanding is that 700r4's are fine on the street, but you want to baby them offroad (or drop alot of money into upgrading them), if not avoid altogether
    th400s are great offroad, but no overdrive can kill gas mileage on a daily driver.
    So if you are looking at building a trail rig, most will say swap the th400 in, but if you plan on daily driving & trail riding, you need to think about it more (tire size, gears, engine, GVW, etc)
    this is just my opinion/understanding, someone with more knowledge will be able to respond more in depth

6. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

How many miles are on it? Is it original? Rebuilt? It is for surely a th700 which IS a good tranny. I highly doubt it is original because the early stockers didn't last very long in the first place.