Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what r drive flanges?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by muddyblzr, Dec 17, 2004.

1. muddyblzr

muddyblzr 1/2 ton status

this probably isnt the smartest question but im a newbie ive only been wheeling and working on 4x4's for alittle while and i had a question about hubs. i have a dana 60 with warn premuim hubs. do they seal up real good in mud and water? im asking because its going from my dd to my offroad truck and id like to try and get the majority of the bugs out now. and what r drive flanges ive heard of them but i dont know what they are. thanks alot for any input.

2. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

Drive flange goes in place of the manual hub; it's permanently locked. It'd be like leaving your Warns in the "locked" position, but it would seal better as it has no moving parts.

-- A

3. muddyblzr

muddyblzr 1/2 ton status

ahh i c thanks alot kinda like an auto hub almost? i might get those cuz for an offroad truck i really wouldnt need to have manuel hubs. i guess only to unlock one in tight spots. i think i might wait until i need 35 splines.

4. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

No, it's not like an auto hub. It's like having your manual hubs engaged all the time. It's a full time hunk of steel splining your axle shaft to the bearing hub.

It's MUCH stronger...and even more dependable than the manual hubs.

5. muddyblzr

muddyblzr 1/2 ton status

anyone know how much they cost for 35 spline or 30 spline?

6. muddyblzr

muddyblzr 1/2 ton status