Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what size welding cable to use for battery install

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by beater74, Dec 7, 2003.

  1. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
    i am collecting parts for my dual battery install and relocation. i will be putting 2 red top optimas behind the front seats. what size welding cable should i get 1, 2, or 1/0 gauge /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    i want to use welding cable cause of it's flexablity and i can use a smaller gauge cable
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    The largest you can afford, but really depends on the length of cable and the draw it requires but usually 00 cable is best
     
  3. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    I used two.
     
  4. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    dont use welding cable, use battery cable...i forget where but ive read that welding cable is not acceptable to carry battery current (amperage)...
     
  5. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    dont use welding cable, use battery cable...i forget where but ive read that welding cable is not acceptable to carry battery current (amperage)...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That is bullshit.
     
  6. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    uhh I've seen plenty of applications using welding wire. Seeing as welders put 200+ amps through those wires I'd have to say thats bull. I'm gonna do my whole setup with zero guage. Since I'm moving the battery to the back of the K5 and want to do some real good grounds.
     
  7. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Welding cable is fine. The finer conductor will probably pass MORE current than regular thick ass battery cables. I've still got those things for the regular cables in number two, but I run welding cable for my 2nd battery and that's what I'm going to run for my winch, too. If I could have found it thicker, I would have ran that, but they only had 4 or 2 so I got 2.
     
  8. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    dont use welding cable, use battery cable...i forget where but ive read that welding cable is not acceptable to carry battery current (amperage)...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That is bullshit.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I agree with Tim on this one. (can ya believe it? /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif)

    Welding cable will take plenty of current in the correct AWG. However, the one reason not to use it is the insulation. It is not rated for automotive use.

    But.... with that said, I use welding cable for my stuff and have never had a problem.

    John
     
  9. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,622
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    i would think it's a corrosion issue, not a voltage issue...

    alot of the boats i work on i see systems done in welding cable, some hold up, some turn green.. great for routing tho, bends so easy. this is huge diesel stuff too, 1/0, 0/0 etc...

    i would think the best thing you could use is marine battery cable. thats what i used for the trunk-mounted system in my Chevelle.. tinned copper holds up very well..

    my.02 /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  10. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    I agree with Tim on this one. (can ya believe it? /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif)

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I am about to do a search on it and quote every time I've heard that the last two or three weeks. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif I wish I had a dime......
     
  11. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
    thanks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    i guess i'll just order so 1/0 gauge. it can hurt.
     
  12. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I am about to do a search on it and quote every time I've heard that the last two or three weeks. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif I wish I had a dime......

    [/ QUOTE ]

    /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  13. 90blzr

    90blzr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2001
    Posts:
    3,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SO CAL
    Just saw your avatar /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     

Share This Page