Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What to look for when buying cucv m1008

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by Kea, Apr 18, 2003.

1. Kea

Kea Newbie

I know its a Newbie question, but hay I am a newbie.
    What do you look for when you buy a cucv?
    I have been lurking the forum for a while but can't seem to find any helpful information on this topic.
    I have my eye on a couple around town but want to make sure I know what to look at before I approach them.
    Never owned a diesel before.
    Any help would be apprecitated.

2. azblazor

azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Do you want a running truck, or are you going to bid at an auction? If its a private sale for a running truck, you want a low mileage well maintained vehicle, talking to owner about what maintenance he did and how often will give you clues. What you want to hear are oil changes every 3k miles or so, and fuel filter changes every other or every third oil change. Drive it, does it feel tight or is it sloppy and all over the road, noises, how does it stop, how does the trany shift - the transfer case? Wear and tear, have the little things been fixed, broken knobs, missing parts, etc.

3. Kea

Kea Newbie