Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What to look for

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by tRustyK5, Nov 10, 2002.

1. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Found a 6.2 in the local buy&sell for cheap. The guy claims it ran well. I'm pretty sure it is no longer in the truck...anything I can look for to save myself a future disaster?

Anyone with a comprehensive list of other junk I'll need to convert to a 6.2 from a 350?

diesel rad I know (he has one for sale as well)
    Hydro boost brakes?
    What about fuel lines and tank?
    Glow plug light dealie on the dash?

Help out a diesel rookie please!/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

rene

2. BARRAZA

BARRAZA 1/2 ton status

I am also a diesel rookie, well I was when I started my current project, but I have learned quite a bit about diesels getting my CUCV running. My first advice is to not buy someone elses junk. If they cant demo the engine running you should never pay more than core value. I have discovered that some diesel parts can make big block parts look cheap! Injectors, pumps, and virtually all hard parts are damn expensive compared to gas engines. If you are converting from gas you will need the hydroboost, tank and lines should be ok after flushing. Easiest to use a manual glow plug switch and not worry about the controller or light on the dash. The diesel is also much heavier than a small block, I thought that it was comparable to a big block, but somewhere else I read that it was approx 900lbs, figure 200 to 400 extra pounds. I like my diesel truck, but I would have to say that I wouldn't do the swap unless fuel price differences between gas and diesel are huge, or you have all the parts just lying around or can get them very cheap. It would cost a bunch to do right, t