Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what transfer case should i use?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by freeflow, Nov 3, 2005.

1. freeflow

freeflow 1/2 ton status

Hey everybody im brad, pretty new here

ok here's what im planning. I have a 84 suburban c20 that im turning into 4 wheel drive. Im wondering what transfer case i should use im gonna keep the 454, turbo 400 thats in the truck , already got the 14 bolt FF in the back. could i use a 208 i have one that came off a 700r4. Or should i get a 205 and which one would i need to bolt upto the 400?
    Im just getting started on the 4x4 seen and im a chevy guy all the way im thinking getting a membership for here pretty soon then i can put some pics up. :D

2. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Welcome aboard. I would go with a 205 but i'm not sure what t-case was behind your current tranny so i'm not sure if it will work with the rear output stickout length of your tranny. You would definately need the 400/205 adapter though.

3. 3rdshiftdesign

3rdshiftdesign 1/2 ton status

I would look for a divorce mounted 205 -- that way you get to keep your same 2wd tranny, and have the advantage of equal length drive shafts.

4. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

I highly doubt he would be able to have equal length driveshafts considering it is a suburban and not a blazer or truck.

5. big83chevy4x4

big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

with a divorced tcase, you can put it any where you want, so you can run equal length driveshafts. with a divorce tcase in a blazer, i don't think you can run equal length driveshafts because by the time you set the tcase back far enough to run a midshaft with a slipyoke, the rear is gonna be shorter than the front.