Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what truck came with 3 or 4 wire O2 sensor?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Jonny-K5, Apr 6, 2005.

  1. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    i was doing some reading over at cfm-tech, i want to swap out my 1 wire O2 for a 3 or 4 wire unit. i'd like to know what trucks came with these style sensors,so when i go to the parts counter guy i can tell him a year/make/model.
     
  2. camiswelding

    camiswelding 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Jon... I just did this last week to my 89 v3500 BB.... from the cfm site info
    I have their stuff on my truck

    I used a later 90's model chevy.... bosch... they were all the same for many years... I went the three wire... the four wire was more money more effort and I felt really not necessary... it was the same BB or SB

    I find my truck definately goes to idle quicker now... (I have a test pipe with no cat in between smogs)... no engine codes get thrown so it all works as written up... I havent done a mileage check yet to see if there is any real world affectation... I doubt there will be but who knows

    cam
     
  3. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Do you have a part number?

    Harley
     
  4. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    hey cam how sit going?
    you have a link to that article?
    thanks man,
    dale
     
  5. James670X

    James670X 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Surpip here's the article.
    Camsk5 exactly which parts did you put on your 350?, did you notice the extra "40 rear wheel hp", as per what the article claims?
     
  6. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I went to Advanced the other day and through a random car out looking for one. IT was like a 97 S10 Blazer, it has 4 wires. I told the guy, look man I just need a 3 wire O2 sensors I was just throwing out a random car. He goes and looks in the Bosch book. Comes back and simply says, "no". When a parts guy says that too me I don't argue I just leave, I'm sure he has one on the shelf behind his stupid ass but he just doesn't know it. Rather than insult him or whatever I left and figured on making a trip to Napa this week.
     
  7. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    sweet thanks!! but how do you hook up the 3 wire? just a constant 12v lead, ground and sender wire?
     
  8. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
  9. camiswelding

    camiswelding 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    guys
    I dont have a part number... I have a good parts man... basically I took my old two wire in and said give me a 3 wire that fits this thread from a later chevy,,,, he said all of them have the same thread so we looked at the bosch book and at chevy tucks and found a 3 wire from a mid to late 90s sb....I compared the tip and it all looked good

    40hp..... no I do think so... I have the stack and plate... I run a K and N.... I use a factory hei bolstered by a 6a mallory 8.5 mm wires and hp coil....
    I think maybe 15 hp... but it winds easily and gets about 2/10 mpg better real world....

    It obviously saves gas as the choke closes quicker... and its real helpful because I run catless ... for test purposes only ..of course.. the motor didnt throw codes without the cat but the computer always wanted to keep the choke open longer because of longer warmup....

    I hope this helps....

    cam

    PS

    Dale ..Im good... woking hard on my resto of the other v3500.... its coming along nicely... just finished up the dually rear disc project... Blackbird Trucks kit.... a prototype... good people!!!
     
  10. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Anyhting 96 and up should have a HO2S (heated oxygen sensor) 3 wire.
     

Share This Page