Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

what type of DSL ?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by R72K5, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    i have verizon dsl

    i am trying to perform a speed test,

    theres a billion different types of dsl such as adsl, hdsl, idsl, etc.

    what the heck is the difference and what do i have ???

    i thought dsl was just plain dsl ?
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    uhh I think Verizon is ADSL. I have Verizon DSL as well.
     
  3. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    agreed, adsl. Have you "tuned" your software settings for DSL? When I was living in NJ, I was able to get speeds of
    2100! Make sure you tune it correctly and you'll definetly get increased speeds. Companies will set the speed to "slow" to control bandwidth, but you can change these settings. Go to DSL Reports (.com) for more stuff.

    later,
    jakeslim
     
  4. skratch

    skratch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gorveport, OH
    Virtually all DSL that the consumer sees is ADSL.

    VDSL would be in limited markets and is wicked fast and expensive
    That would be seen in markets that already have a lot of fiber optic lines laid, as VDSL only uses copper wire for relativly short distances.

    I have no clue what HDSL or IDSL are, never heard of them.
    But if you were talking about ISDN, steer away from that unless you're a fairly large business, what is offered to the consumer is usually BRI which is slow compared to DSL.
    PRI however is pretty decent speed, still not as fast as DSL, but more cost effective for a business that is simply sending Data.
     
  5. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    how to fine tune dsl connection ? i have XP home if it matters

    so we have adsl ?

    ok, cool


    thanks
     
  6. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    I believe the program to tune DSL the easiest is TweakMaster or Tweak Master. It sets it and has a "back to original settings " option so you can't mess it up. I've messed with settings tons of times with no problems at all.
     
  7. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    is it freeware ?

    hope so

    what settings do you recommend ?
    i use my system strictly for internet only, no games no anything else, no file swapping sharing junk either,

    thanks /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
     
  8. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    its not freeware, but has a trial period. you can sometimes find a "key" on google searching for "Tweakmaster serial" and include version of Tweakmaster. This may challenge you morally though so its your choice.
    /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     

Share This Page