Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

What Van Axle Do I Need?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Dale fan, Jun 26, 2003.

1. Dale fan

Dale fan 1/2 ton status

I'm a total newbie on drivetrain so I figured I'd ask the experts. The pinion bearing is starting to go out on my 10 bolt so instead of messing with it i want to upgrade. Van axles are plentiful here and i like the matching width factor they will provide. I'm wanting to stay six lug as a FF is overkill for what I use this /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif for. Just mud and snow, no rocks so I'm looking at the 14SF. My /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif is a 90 so it has the ABS on it. Do I need to find a newer one with the ABS or what? My yard here handy has a 88, 94, and 95 right now. I'm sure I will have to move the perches around but what would be the least difficult swap. Also what about the yokes? Will I need a conversion? By the way, my height and everything is currently stock but I am looking at going around 4" soon. Any suggestions you can throw at me will be great.

2. u2slow

u2slow 1/2 ton status

Don't worry about ABS. Your K5 uses the speed sensor in the t-case for this. There are no sensors in the rear end.

Find out what overall width you need. 2wd and 4wd versions of the 6-lug 14SF differ by about 3-4". (4wd is wider)

A conversion u-joint will probably be necessary. the 14SF pinion is only 1/2" longer. Your driveshaft slip-joint can probably accomodate this. If not, the 4" lift will.

3. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

[ QUOTE ]