Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

whats it take to run a 2wd tranny?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 55Willy, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. 55Willy

    55Willy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Posts:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keizer, Or
    My brother has a race pepped th400 that he wats to put in his blazer to replace the leaking th350. He as gonna just buy anew 4x4 tail shaft and the tranny hop said he doesn't have to do all that if he can find a 205 off a 465.. I as looking at my 205 I have and I don't see any way a 4 bolt(auto tranny) set up will bolt up to a 8 bolt(or more bolt manual) set up. I thnk it would b easier to get a np208 and adapter and run that with his th400.

    has anyone here done a 2wd tranny swap or know of someone who has?
     
  2. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    8 bolts for the aqdapter not for the tranny case to bolt to

    4 bolt hole are at the end of the main case of all tranny models, 2wd or not, and are used for bolting on the output shaft housing for 2wd's and for bolting to the adapter for t-cases on 4x4's

    i think you are confused

    to make a 2wd work under a 4xz4 you must totalyl disassemble the tranny 100% and then rmeove the output shjaft and replace it with a 4x4 one and then completely reassemble the whole tranny again, the output shaft tranny has to come out from inside the tranny

    it sucks

    hope you arent confused now

    or do you mean replacing 4x4 tranny and t case with just a 2wd tranny ?


    465 and 400 were 32 spline yes but another problem: there were three different 32 spline shaft length made for 4x4's alone, all depending on year, 81-up were longest 32 i believe,
     
  3. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    u need the right adapter & the right output & the right t-case. adapters t-case inputs & tranny outputs are specific to certan combos.

    to mate a t-400 to a 205 u will need that adapter, the 32 spline tranny output & a 205 w/ a 32 spline female input.
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    [ QUOTE ]
    to make a 2wd work under a 4xz4 you must totalyl disassemble the tranny 100% and then rmeove the output shjaft and replace it with a 4x4 one and then completely reassemble the whole tranny again, the output shaft tranny has to come out from inside the tranny

    [/ QUOTE ]

    correction, you dont have to completely dissasemble the trans 100%, you only need to pull it down about 2/3s the way down were the snap ring is that holds the output shaft in /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  5. 55Willy

    55Willy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Posts:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keizer, Or
    [ QUOTE ]
    8 bolts for the aqdapter not for the tranny case to bolt to


    [/ QUOTE ]

    Do you own a sm465? theres 8 bolts on each end 8 for the tranny side and 8 for the t-case side. I know cause I have one and I have had it apart.

    I know there are 3 different splines, I also kno that you hae to change the 2wd shaft for a 4wd output shaft...BUT the tranny shop said he didn't have too. the said there is an adaptor out there that will bolt up to te 4 bolt pattern on the th400 and mate it to a stndard t case.. that where I was waving the BS flag sence the manual t case runs 8 bolts to adapt it.

    I think he needs to get the 4x4 tail shaft and mate it to a 208 with the righ adaptor since there are millions of those 208's out there.
     
  6. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    im not sure on the 2wd 400 but the 350 and 700r4 have a 27 spline slip yoke. the 205 off a 465 is 10 spline. if it is the short tail shaft 400 then it might work but the splines dont match. he has three options 203, 205, or 208. 203 would be easy to find, 205 hard, 208 easy.
     
  7. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,088
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    There seems to be a fair amount of confusion here so I'm going to try to help out...

    1) TH400's have 6 bolts on the tail end, TH350's & TH700's have 4.

    2) Spline counts:

    (Pre '85 model / figure "8" bolt pattern)
    TH400 = 32
    TH350 / TH700 = 27
    4spd = 10

    ('85 > / round bolt pattern )
    Th400 = 32
    4spd = 32

    3) All of the tranny to t-case combos had unique adapters. If you want to mount a TH400 to a 4spd version 205 then you will need the correct adapter and then you have to deal with having the correct input/output shafts.

    4) Making a 2wd tranny work on a 4wd application is certainly do-able, sometimes with no modifications. For TH400's there are 4 different tailshafts. Of these 4, the short shaft 2wd version with a bolt on yoke will work for a pre '85 TH400 version 205 t-case. The length is correct (I believe it sticks out of the case 4 1/2") so all you need is the correct adapter and a t-case with the short female 32 spline input (pre '85) shaft.

    5) The 4spd case can be made to work with the TH400 but you will need to change the t-case input shaft (and get the correct adapter).

    Take a look at my WEBSHOTS ALBUM for examples of the rear of the TH400 case and the TH40/205 adapter. Also, the 205 tech section on the ORD website is very informative about the different 205 input shafts.

    I hope this helps, if I missed anything let me know. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page