Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Whats needed for a cummins swap

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by badassblazer03, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. badassblazer03

    badassblazer03 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Amherst, NH 03031
    I got an 82 blazer, whats all needed to do a 24V cummins swap?
    -Stew
     
  2. Diesel Dan

    Diesel Dan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Posts:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warren, Ohio
    Hmmm, this could be a loaded question /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif.

    First the 24V motors were computer controlled. So you'll need wiring and a ECM. The 12Vs are mechanical, easier.

    Second, what trans do you want too use?
    GM trans will require the hard to find 4BT/TH400 adapters from the P30 bread trucks. Not a lot of these trucks around but probably the most common for this setup.
    You could use a NV4500 from a dodge and have the output shaft changed over to use a GM np241 or np208. Then there is the first gen dodges that have a 727/np205(RH drop).
    Many options in the trans department.

    Most likely you'll have to run electric fans, unless you have a body lift and it allows you enough room to slide the motor back for fan clearance.

    If I keep my suburban I would pull the entire drivetrain out of my '98 dodge to repower the sub. It is an early '98 with the 12V motor.
     
  3. DwarF

    DwarF 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Posts:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    So the venerable 700R4 is out of the question for the 12/24v?
     
  4. Diesel Dan

    Diesel Dan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Posts:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warren, Ohio
    " venerable 700R4 " /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif.
    Ohhh, that's a good one!
    I'm a GM fan and the later 4L60Es are much better. But when you say venerable I think of the TH350 and Th400, and the 700 just isn't there, IMO.
     
  5. K30CJ

    K30CJ 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IN
    I don't think a 700R4 could stand up to the torque of the Cummins. I'm sure there's some specialty place who could build one up, but I'd still be skeptical./forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif Cummins' seem to be fond of destroying wimpy transmissions. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

    Anyway, it can be done so that you can run the stock mechanical fan, if you're willing to "massage" the firewall a little. If you're going to work the Cummins much, I'd definitely try to use the mechanical fan. I posted some pics of my 12V in another post recently.
     
  6. mcinfantry

    mcinfantry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    i run a 4bt, my opinion a better swap.
    1) 800lbs vs 1200 over the front axle. if you wheel it, you will have to put a d60.
    2) fits easier
    3) 105hp/286ftlbs tq.
    4) 20mpg in my rig.
    you can buy the frito lay trucks with th400's or sm465's behind them.
     
  7. joez

    joez 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Lenox, Illinois
    [ QUOTE ]
    105hp/286ftlbs tq.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Not to mention PLENTY of room to grow from there /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    Im looking for a 4bt right now, but im not sure how well it will tow in stock form, as thats what it will be stuck at for a little while. I dont have the funds for a 6bt. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     
  8. mcinfantry

    mcinfantry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    i should be able to tow 7000-8000. my truck weighs 6500 and gvw for the 4bt "as is" is 13000 or so.
     
  9. supersize75k5

    supersize75k5 OrganDonorRacing.com

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gilbert az
    why is nobody mentioning the frame /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif

    a cumminns in my thoughts would kill a old 1/2 ton frame /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
     
  10. mcinfantry

    mcinfantry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    i doubt a 4bt would. at 24mpg at 70, its worth a try..
     
  11. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
    I checked out your page....very nice. So, you have 2 M715's?
     
  12. mcinfantry

    mcinfantry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, the one in the back is my buddies. he let me look at it to make sure mine went back together correctly.

    24mpg at 70 and approximately 2200rpm
    if i did 55 to 60 which is 1600rpm to1700 i bet im in the 30's

    the cummins is VERY easy to hook up, and work on
     
  13. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    why is nobody mentioning the frame /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif

    a cumminns in my thoughts would kill a old 1/2 ton frame /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Well I have one in my 76 K5, it's actually a 354ci perkins TD, the torque isn't as high as the new cummins but 415ft lbs @800RPM with an engine that weighs 1300lbs, this frame has held up fine for the past 7 years (4 with the PO and 3 with me) I oly broke the frame at the usual place at the steering box last year after I put a front locker and 35" tires and went on the rubicon.
    Now I am getting a 1 ton frame to replace the blazer frame since I CAN but I don't think it's necessary.
    /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  14. blasterD

    blasterD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Posts:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    Is the front half of a 1 ton any different than a 1/2 ton? I always thought they were the same from the cab forward.
     
  15. supersize75k5

    supersize75k5 OrganDonorRacing.com

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gilbert az
    yes cab and mounts are same, the frame is a whole different enchalada though, I have a friend wondering on these issues right now /forums/images/graemlins/hack.gif
     
  16. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    yes cab and mounts are same, the frame is a whole different enchalada though, I have a friend wondering on these issues right now /forums/images/graemlins/hack.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Cab mounts are the same, the frame you can work around that issue with different length body lifts.
    That is what i will do in combination with maybe raising a couple of mounts to make it closer.
    I will post up once I have it done or at least figured out.
    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page