Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Where are the root dns servers located ?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by dontoe, Jul 9, 2006.

  1. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
  2. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    lol dontoe.



    I'd be willing to bet that there are only a handfull of people here that even know there WERE root dns servers.


    :D you da man!
     
  3. justhorsinaround

    justhorsinaround 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    6,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northerish Phoenix, Az
    I'm not one of the handfull. Figured there had to be some sort of central type hub but not what it was called or anything.
     
  4. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    well its not exactly a central "hub" for the internet. It is for the central hubs for all other dns servers. (DNS = Domain name service).


    the internet itself doesn't have any central hub, its just a massive ammount of computers that all hook together in some way shape or form.


    the root DNS servers are like the index of the internet, they keep track of every entry for any domain (ex: they tell the internet that coloradok5.com can be found at 66.33.214.212)
     
  5. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Thought that the root servers only knew that if asked about coloradok5.com, they ask godaddy.com (the authoritative server for coloradok5.com), and godaddy.com tells the client that it's 66.33.214.212.

    But yeah, they are the lowest level of name-to-number translation of the Internet.

    Can't wait for IPv6 -- no way us humans will be able to remember that many numbers =))

    -- A
     
  6. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    pretty much, but they do (AFAIK) keep local cache.
     
  7. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    I havn't been to a company yet that uses IPv6. I'm sure somebody does, but I'm out there every day and havn't come across it yet. I thought about using it for my home network, just for fun. I havn't looked latley, is there a plan to migrate...:laugh: It's been out there since at least the mid-nineties for anyone to use.....
     
  8. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    I've also yet to see anyone use IP6.

    I'm not sure on migration just yet, but most of the newer linux kermels are IP6 with an IP4 converter built into it.
     

Share This Page