Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Where are your TACH'S located?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 78Suburban, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Wow, I never realized the whole column turned with the gear shifter... guess I'm gonna have to take off a bunch of duct tape now :eek1: ...LOL.. Cheap little 3" sunpro I threw in there today... Where are your tach's mounted?
    Pics are welcome.
    thanks,
    James
     
  2. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    Mines in the factory location:D
    [​IMG]

    It is a factory tach recalibrated to 7K.

    Ira
     
  3. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    LUCKY.... that reminds me, I need to put some FUEL in mine, as it is literally on the E :eek1:
    thanks,
    James
     
  4. Chevy305

    Chevy305 6 Lug 14bsf Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    11,232
    Likes Received:
    491
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Man I wish I had a factory tach.:bow: Well I have a stick so I mounted my tach on the column. I also have the cheapo Sunpro tach, I burnt mine out so I bought a new one in autozone excuse me IDIOTZONE, and the thing worked fine for a month and now needle will stick at about 2300rpm until you go over 3000rpm and then the needle will rocket past my accual rpms. I will have a few words with the idiot behind the counter soon.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,554
    Likes Received:
    547
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    top left corner of dash pad next to piller . nice little auto meter unit.
     
  6. big_black_blazer

    big_black_blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    my little sun tach hangs from the trim over the windshield. mounted it using a longer screw in the origional screw's place. puts it right in my sight without taking my eyes off the road, but now i can't use my visor.
     
  7. mtn. burb

    mtn. burb 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ojai Calif.
    Ditto:D
     
  8. muddyblzr

    muddyblzr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    houston/san antonio texas
    mine is on the column in the middle. it moves with the shifter. so in park its off to the left side and in drive its right in the middle. i like it right in front. only blocks out like 75+ mph so i dont really have to worry about it getting in the way
     
  9. rwright07

    rwright07 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    corporate hobo
    sorry to hijack...
    but i may sound retarded for askin this...
    keep in mind im a 17 yr old while ur flaming me...
    how would u put in a tach in my '76 K5??
    400sb,th350,np203
     
  10. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    What is that cupholder looking thing in your pic....
    And where can I get one at
     
  11. Kyle Strong

    Kyle Strong 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    Mine's located below the ignition switch (it's a first gen). I would have put up on teh top of teh dash somewhere, but I didn't mount it.
     
  12. hack500

    hack500 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Templeton, Ma
    here's mine.

    tach.jpg
     
  13. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Mine is setup EXACTLY like that, but mine is molded in fiberglass
     
  14. WhiteBurb

    WhiteBurb 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Mine's on the center of the dash, angled slightly to the driver. I picked that spot because its easy to see and doesn't block any sight out the window.
     
  15. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I'm thinking you have an HEI Distributor (I can snap a pic of the differance between an HEI and points distributor if you need me to). If its HEI, you WILL see 2 wire plugs going into the right side of the distributor. Craw over in there with a light and beside the front 1 wire plug you will see the word TACH on top.. one of the wires on your tachometer will plug into this (you will need to buy some little metal connectors at wal mart that clamp onto your wires)... If you had the old style distributor, which I don't think you do, this would just be the negative side of the coil.

    You already have 1 wire connected. Now you are gonna connect another wire to a terminal on your fuse box labeled IGN (this only has power when your truck's ignition is turned on).

    Now you have to hook up a ground wire, so just bolt it to some metal, you should be able to find another black wire or two under the dash bolted down. You can share this bolt if you like..

    Now you have the backlit part of your tach, this wire can go to any source of power that is on when your headlights or guages are on. I can't remember the name of this wire, but I think there is one on the fuse box too, I'm sure somebody can chime in, is it like pnl, gugs, lgts,,, ah , I dunno, but you'll just have to find a source of power that comes on with your guages and headlights... I don't even have my backlighting part hooked up yet :o

    You tach will come with instructions and tell which color of wire to connect where. My old Sunpro, somebody gave me, so I searched until I found instructions from the company website to download..

    Wiring is easy and fun, and the only thing I ever seem to do successfully anymore...lol...hope this helped a bit.
    thanks,
    James
     
  16. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    I mounted my tack on the A piller w/ long screw that holds the trim panel on. And I cheated when I hooked up the back light, I just spliced the light and ignition wire together and hooked it to the fuse block.
     
  17. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Cheapie SunPro , top left corner , on the SunPro bracket bent a bit , one screw in the bezel mounting location , wiring through the little slot next to dash . Oh , and thats one of my friends on the dash mat who rides with me on EVERY wheeling trip I have EVER done :pimp:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. BizeeB65

    BizeeB65 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Mine is up in the corner, where the little tiger is in this pic above.
     
  19. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,118
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA

    That is where mine is too... however I dont have the 7k tach.... I realize with the tach down there I just nail it and never look at it.. always looking at the way ahead....

    need a heads up delay...
     
  20. cutlasskid86

    cutlasskid86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    My k5 came with the 5 inch tach mounted to the tranny hump, right if front of the t-case shifter. Sucks down there, plan to put it where my fuel guage is now.
     

Share This Page