Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Where can I buy autoCAD online?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84gmcjimmy, Jul 16, 2004.

  1. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    I think thats what it's called. I'd like to buy it so I can make 3-d drawing of my cage design. thanks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  2. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Do you know what AutoCAD costs?
     
  3. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    someone told me before but I forgot...alot of money /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  4. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Yes. Thousands of dollars (American dollars, which means its probably millions of dollars to you). /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  5. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    is there a site I can see to get the exact price...?

    Doesn't kyle over on offroadfabnet have it? And russ? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Maybe a pirated copy, I doubt they have the real deal.

    There are cheaper versions too like autocad lite.

    Hell I wish I remembered half the commands from a few years ago when I used to use it every day.

    It's pretty handy.
     
  7. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
  8. outlaw612

    outlaw612 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, Illinois
    Being in school like you are, you could buy a student version of Autocad LT for about $300. The only thing is the LT doesnt have the 3d program. Im not sure if there is a full version of Autocad for students, but I would think there is. Ill look for the link to where I got mine.
     
  9. outlaw612

    outlaw612 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, Illinois
  10. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Yes. Thousands of dollars (American dollars, which means its probably millions of dollars to you).

    [/ QUOTE ]

    your dollar is doing extremely lousy since Bush was elected.
    our Gov is doing all it can to devalue our currency trying to stay under the US dollar
    and still the lowest we can get it is over .70
     
  11. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    you pretty much have to go to school to learn to use Autocad
     
  12. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    You don't have to go to school to learn AutoCAD, just get a book. Also, do not use AutoCAD to do 3-d drawings, it sucks so bad. You need SolidWorks. If you are in college or if you know someone in college go to journeyed.com and buy a student version for a couple hundred dollars.

    Pirated copies of both programs are everywhere though. Just ask around. I have both on burned CD's.

    -Chris
     
  13. chevy_addict

    chevy_addict 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    You are here, I am not
    [ QUOTE ]
    Also, do not use AutoCAD to do 3-d drawings, it sucks so bad. You need SolidWorks.

    -Chris

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I agree, if you have never used a CAD program Solidworks is MUCH easier to learn than AutoCAD, IMO. And it kicks a** at 3D /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Dave
     
  14. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Where can I get the book for autocad too? Anyone have a link for Solidworks? So autocad is better for 2-D, and solidworks is better for 3-D drawing? Thanks for the help /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  15. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    How much is Solidworks compared to Autocad? Around the same? Link?
     
  16. chevy_addict

    chevy_addict 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    You are here, I am not
  17. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Dave,
    Thanks for the solidworks sites, they are alot cheaper than autocad, although they just have the student ones.
    Thanks /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  18. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Just noticed this post...

    I have SolidWorks not AutoCad. From what I've seen, SolidWorks is much easier to use than AutoCad, but there was still an initial learning curve that was frustrating and difficult (for me). I still have much to learn, but once I got over the initial pain, things have progressed rapidly.

    And it is not pirated, though I'm not sure if the details of ownership transfer EULA wording may have been technically violated. Those darn things are so complicated you'd need to hire a lawyer to be sure, and like most people, I don't actually read them. I work in the computer industry, and a friend works for a company that uses SolidWorks for modeling. They upgraded from 2001 to the new version (2003?) and had older versions unused. Their person in charge of such things offered him a legit copy of the now obsolete SolidWorks. He didn't need it and new that I would be interested, so he passed it on to me...
     
  19. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    ooh okay. I will probably try solidworks too. When you buy them, they come with a manual on how to use them right?
     
  20. CyberSniper

    CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    We use IntelliCAD at school for doing AutoCAD stuff (I don't know if IntelliCAD does 3D, been too many years). AutoCAD being the crappy company it is doesn't give much in the way of school discounts. Most of the school uses IDEAS. The ME Department uses SolidWorks and if you ask nicely Pro/E. For a campus of ~5,500 students full of engineers we have like 2 licenses for AutoCAD.
     

Share This Page