Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Where do i find the cable to attach to the gas pedal for my th400?

Discussion in 'Plains Region' started by rocko, Apr 30, 2003.

  1. rocko

    rocko 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2000
    Posts:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Anyone know what I need, what truck to look for? What's all included in transferring over to a 400 from a 700?
    I know some of you all have done this already... is it difficult? and what's done with the 4 prong plug in for the 700r4 when the transmission is removed?
    Thanks guy's.. trying to do my research before delving into the project..
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    The TH400 doesn't take a cable. It uses an electrical switch that mounts on the gas pedal bracket. One side of the switch goes to a source that provides 12 volts when the engine is on, the other side goes to the connector on the drivers side of the TH400. When you floor it, the switch closes and sends 12 volts to the tranny, which activates the kickdown solenoid. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    You can find the switch and wiring on any rig that came stock with a 400. 3/4-ton Subs and pickups, probably even some full size vans (Until '91, when the 4L80E started being used). I got mine from an old Jeep Grand Wagoneer. Back in the 70's they came with TH400's. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  3. rocko

    rocko 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2000
    Posts:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Thanks Harry...
    How easy is this switch to install and how easy is it to remove from a donor vehicle?
    I'm going to try and gather everything up before I start doing the swap !!!
     
  4. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    It's just held on the bracket by a couple of sheet metal screws. Your bracket most likely already has the holes drilled for them. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  5. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    I'm not sure but I think you can get it from Summit Racing...
     
  6. BILLY RAY

    BILLY RAY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Posts:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx.
    just come over and look at mine it is real easy to see and install /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. j20m715

    j20m715 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Murphy,Tx
    Hey Rocko
    What all do you need, parts wise to do the swap ?
    I have most of it, including the bracket for the kickdown switch.
    Are you going to a 400/205 or 400/208 ?
     
  8. 84K5cedric

    84K5cedric 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX 78660
    Hey Rocko,

    Since you won't be needing the 4 prong connector (torque convertor lockup) anymore, I know Prescott sure could use this. He installed a TH350 with Lockup but hasn't gotten the lockup setup yet since he hasn't gotten one of the plugs yet.
     
  9. BILLY RAY

    BILLY RAY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Posts:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx.
    he can have mine.
     
  10. 77 Mud Buddy

    77 Mud Buddy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Sounds good to me! When can I come and pick it up?

    Prescott
     
  11. BILLY RAY

    BILLY RAY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Posts:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx.
    uh!! when ever. You know where i live /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  12. rocko

    rocko 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2000
    Posts:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    J20M715,
    I need the kickdown? or sensor..
    I'm going to a 400/205 picked up the pair for $450.00 with trans/tcase adapter and crossmember..
    It's missing the sensor and wire that attaches to the gas pedal..
    Billy.. I will have some time off here in the near future.. so i will stop by...
    Thanks guy's... I'm one step closer to getting the big white blazer back on the road.. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. rocko

    rocko 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2000
    Posts:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    too the top.. i had problems getting into ck5 the other day... J20M715... I need the parts you have.. send me a pm please.. let's talk business.
     
  14. JAXSTER

    JAXSTER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DFW, TEXAS
    This can also be swaped for Vacum controled Switch from older unit. then just run a vacum line to the Manifold.
     

Share This Page