Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

where is the ECM

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by tunedportk5, Aug 3, 2004.

  1. tunedportk5

    tunedportk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Union City, CA
    where do they put the ECM on the 87-91 blazers. I was looking for a good place to put the one for the tpi. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  2. fwdjunky

    fwdjunky 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maricopa, AZ
    I believe it's mounted against the fire wall inside the cab on the passenger side, sort of behind and to the left of the glove box. That's where I found it in the 88 burb I stole my tbi set up out of anyway. I mounted it in the same spot in my 79, it made sense to keep it out of the weather and that way the stock wire harness reached everything very well. Hope that helps, Rich.
     
  3. tunedportk5

    tunedportk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Union City, CA
    I'll take a look there thanks for the info /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. fwdjunky

    fwdjunky 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maricopa, AZ
    Just out of curiosity, was your blazer originally tbi with a manual transmission? If so I may know some one who would be interested in picking up your ecm and stock harness if available... /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     
  5. tunedportk5

    tunedportk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Union City, CA
    no mine had the carb with automatic
     
  6. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    Behind the glovebox.
     
  7. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I put my TPI ECM behind the glove box, mounted just above the heater box. Easy access and safe/dry, etc.
     
  8. tunedportk5

    tunedportk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Union City, CA
    I was thinking the higher the better. you never know when your truck is going to be full of water. /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif
     
  9. tree_entz

    tree_entz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N. Vermont
    myne is suspended by a 20 penny nail in the garage. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  10. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    It's behind/above the glove box.

    TPI/TBI ECM for the 80's is the same size, so as long as your truck has the mounts for an ECM holder (the ESC mounts in the same place for some years, not sure when that started, my '86 had the mounts and it was diesel) you can get the plastic piece that the TBI ECM trucks use, and the "strap" that holds the ECM in place, and mount it like stock. Can't get it any higher and still out of the way than the stock location.
     

Share This Page