Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Where is your tach?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by blazen91, Mar 7, 2001.

  1. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    I just bought a 5" monster tach by Auto Meter. Where do you all, who have tachs, have them mounted. I thought of putting it on the froor by the shifter, but that would hard to watch when your wheeling. The dash is the only other place I can think of, but Mrs. blazen91 thinks it will look stupid(like I'm listening to her anyway!). Thanks for your help.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazen91.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazen91.coloradok5.com</A>
    Protect the land FOR the people
    Not FROM the people
     
  2. CrazeeBush

    CrazeeBush 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Posts:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Tennessee
    Mine is strapped to my steering column with radiator hose clamps, not exactly the prettiest thing ever, but it works, and I didn't have to mess up my new dash cover.

    -JoSH
    crazeebush@aol.com
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://josh.coloradok5.com>http://josh.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  3. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Mine is on the colum. click below to see it
    http://www.burt4x4.coloradok5.com
     
  4. Shawn

    Shawn 1/2 ton status Premium Member Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    5280'
    Here's mine and believe it or not, it's out of site for road vision. Real easy to see going down the road!

    [​IMG]

    It's mounted on the pillar.

    BTW- Just to let others know, Blazen91's rocksliders are pretty sweet and well made. I'm hoping to get them on by next week. Still working on engine stuff.

    Shawn
    87 K5
    few mods[​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.off-road.com/chevy>http://www.off-road.com/chevy</A>
     
  5. Rob 85K5

    Rob 85K5 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Here is mine. It gets in the way of the fuel gauge, but you don't have to look at it very much either. I'm against drilling into the dash.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Rob 85K5

    <font color=orange>Bleedin' Chevy Orange</font color=orange>
     
  6. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    I have a brand spanking new Auto Meter 2 5/8" Sport Comp still in the box because I DONT KNOW WHERE THE HELL TO PUT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am not a big fan on drilling holes and chopping up the dash. I like my trucks all stock and in original condition. I have had the tach for about 6 months now and still dont have a clue what to do. Anybody?
     
  7. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    I don't know where my tach is but if you find it will you let me know? Ha ha! LOL! okay...i'm gonna shut up. Actually, what I want to try to do is buy a small fuel gauge and put it where my clock is suppose to be and get a tach that will fit where the fuel gauge was

    [​IMG] Keep your feet dry [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com>http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  8. LA Bogger

    LA Bogger 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Posts:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Robins AFB, Georgia, USA
    Shawn, you say it attached to the pillar, it look as if its attached to the dash. Did you make a Custom bracket?????

    Eat More Mud!!!
     
  9. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    There some bolts under the ash tray/cigarette lighter that look like a fairly good spot. Its out of the way and its easy to hide the wires.

    Two lanes wide, twelve yards long, sixty-five tons of American pride....Canyanero!
     
  10. SAVAGE1

    SAVAGE1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BAY AREA, CA
    Mine's mounted on the top left side of my roof. I took off my visor and drilled holes in the visor bracket. Its just above eye level and doesn't block the road at all, since we're higher than most things. I thought about mounting it on the left side of the dash, where Shawn had it, but it seemed to block my view (i have the big shift light).
     
  11. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Mine's sitting in my toolbox until I feel up to mounting it on the column(which needs new bearings anyway, so I may as well do it all at once).
     
  12. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Mines mounted on the bottom of the dash below the raido. I have no problems seeing it. There are already some bolts and holes there so mounting was no problem. It looks very clean, and is out of the way.
    I usually dont run Winston cup or NHRA in my K5 so I really dont need a tach in my face. My god, if I,m going to fast to see a 5" tach at a glance when I'm 4 wheeling it might be time to seriously consider having a testicle removed.
     
  13. pcorssmit

    pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Mine's right in the dash where the rest'a yall have that big fugly fuel gauge. Picked up an OE one in the junkyard a few years back.

    Pete

    '83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd
     
  14. Shawn

    Shawn 1/2 ton status Premium Member Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    5280'
    No, there's nothing between the gauge and dash. Thats the hose clamp screw you're seeing. I used a large hose clamp and secured it to the steel pillar with 2 screws. It holds the guage great and doesn't shake a bit. When I purchased my tach, I didn't get a mounting cup so I did the hose clamp.

    Eventually, I'd like to do this:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    But maybe go with a lower mph speedo! [​IMG]

    Shawn
    87 K5
    few mods[​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.off-road.com/chevy>http://www.off-road.com/chevy</A>
     
  15. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    That's a nice little set up ya got there. What brand are those gauges and how much did it cost you?

    [​IMG] Keep your feet dry [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com>http://muddin4fun.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  16. Shawn

    Shawn 1/2 ton status Premium Member Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    5280'
    It's not mine. A guy with a 2wd GM truck did that. Here's the detailed info:
    http://www.off-road.com/chevy
     
  17. 1990SilveradoK5

    1990SilveradoK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napoleon, OH
    pcorsmit

    I would like to place a tach in where the Fugly fuel gauge is also, what did you pull the OE tack out of? And what did you do for a fuel gauge.

    I like the looks of the aftermarket ones above, but don't want to spend that kind of money.

    Would the same setup work on my 90 as your 83?



    Gone Large and Loving It.
    Keith<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by 1990SilveradoK5 on 03/08/01 09:37 AM (server time).</FONT></P>
     
  18. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    My truck has an "Audio Tach".

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/>http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/</A>
     
  19. pcorssmit

    pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I got the 2 gauges out of a ~'76 3/4 ton. They changed the type face around '78, but I'm the only one that ever notices it. It is a 0-5000 rpm tach, and the gas gauge says "FUEL", and goes in the same hole as in the picture above. The older trucks also used a mechanical oil pressure gauge, so I (slightly) modifies my original cluster for the tach. I haven't priced them at the dealer, but I think LMC wants like $380 for just the tach. Ouch!

    '83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd
     
  20. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,086
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    Hey Grim, do you mean the exhaust or alternator whine in your stereo?

    I put a small tach in the lower left hand gauge hole in the dash (of the cluster of 4 on the left). That spot was empty from the factory, so it went right in. It would be easier to keep an eye on it if it were one of the big gauges in the middle, and that would be the right way to do it, but I have never had a fuel gauge in a vehicle that worked as perfectly as this one, so I didn't want to mess it up.

    The dilemna is that these trucks need both tranny temp and tach added to them and there is usually only one slot open. When you go to mount a gauge under the dash, I figure that you might as well add more than one, so I built a small oak panel for tranny temp, vacuum and air/fuel ratio. This will be a great setup for carb tuning, I think.

    <font color=blue>"Guys aren't able to get $15-20million a year anymore, so you have to play for the love of the game." --Penny Hardaway (Orlando Magic)</font color=blue>
     

Share This Page