Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Where to get hub/rotors assy.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by TB383, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. TB383

    TB383 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I am building up a dana 44 from a k5 blazer and went to auto zone and oreillys and they both said that they do no carry a rotor/hub assemble anymore. I was told that i have to buy the hub and the rotor seperate because they no longer get in as a assembly. I was just wondering where yall would get this?? i need it for a dana 44 with 6 lug.,, thanks
     
  2. oatsk5

    oatsk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Posts:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Grand junction CO
    hey get with azblazer i know he just odered some not to long ago
     
  3. TB383

    TB383 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    alrighty i sent him an email, thanks....anyone else you know of
     
  4. K5Glazier

    K5Glazier 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Posts:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Az.
    Napa had everthing I needed for the d44
     
  5. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Umm, do you not have hubs? Or are you changing from 6 to 8?

    I'd get hubs @ a junkyard and get rotors from the parts place ... they just press on with the lugs.

    Or am I missing the question entirely?

    -- A
     
  6. TB383

    TB383 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    no you got it man, I am just replacing the hubs that are on it now and the rotors. I went to autozone and was looking for a assembly with the hub and rotor together, but i guess you can just buy it seperate and it will be fine, ill try napa

    thanks
     
  7. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,062
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    If there is nothing wrong with your hubs why do you want to replace them? I could see if you wanted to buy a hub/rotor assembly so you could have an extra pair of hubs. Then again, the hub/rotor assembly usually isn't much more money than buying a rotor by itself.
     
  8. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Gaieee, yeah, why replace what ain't broke? AZBlazer was doing it to go to 8-lug.

    I'd press out the studs and replace the rotor only. Cheaper and easier, IMHO.

    -- A
     
  9. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    Where in Tx are you? I have a couple of those left over from a conversion.
     
  10. TB383

    TB383 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Lewisville area......are the ones you have 6 lug?
     
  11. atho

    atho 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wayne County, Ohio
    carquest has them i'm fairly sure.
     
  12. TB383

    TB383 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    welll i guess i dont need to replace the hub then, i will just put new bearings in the one i got and then just buy new rotors....... thanks for the help guys
     
  13. scrappyk5

    scrappyk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Posts:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    virginia
    i am replacing my rotors on mine also ,
    do i have to also replace the studs ?
    is it better to find a place to press the studs out , or can i knock them out with a hammer ?
     
  14. ProJunkRacing

    ProJunkRacing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FrankFort IL
    if you knock them with a hammer becareful to not hit the threads, i use an air hammer with a pointed tip right dead center of the stud
     

Share This Page