Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Where to get Spindle Nut sockets?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sled_dog, May 9, 2004.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Well, where do you get yours? Need one for the 60 and does the 14 bolt use the sameone or do I need one there as well? I know you can always chisel and blah blah blah, but I want to have the right tools for the job here.
     
  2. MTBLAZER89

    MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    7,272
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    I got mine at Kragen (shucks, checkers) it was like $26
     
  3. mofugly13

    mofugly13 1 ton bucket of rust Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Posts:
    2,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I had to go to a tool store to get mine. Kragen did not have the one I needed for my D70, which had a 2 9/16" hex style locknut. I f you need the king that has the tabs sticking out, I think Kragen has those.
     
  4. Bhintz

    Bhintz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Posts:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, Ga
    got mine last week at advanced for $14
     
  5. marine_enlisted

    marine_enlisted 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Posts:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stafford, VA
    My 14 and 60 use different sockets. I got my 14 bolt socket at a local Autozone and the 60 socket is on order from Randy's Ring and Pinion. NAPA carries it, but they want $45.00 /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif Randys sells them for about $20.
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    I got the front socket from my work. I do not yet own the 6 prong socket for the rear despite owning THREE 14 bolts. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  7. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    I bought one for a front 60 from Kragen and turned down the OD so it will fit inside the hub of my 14FF and replaced the 6 prong nuts with a set of D60 nuts and pin locks. That way I only need one socket and 1 type of nuts and locks.
     

Share This Page