Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Where to start

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mo, Jun 29, 2004.

1. mo

mo 1/2 ton status

Hey guys,
    I picked up a 82 K5 about 6 months ago for $700, and now that I'm out of school i think its time to start buildin it up. I'm pretty new to trucks, this is my first one to go along with my two thirdgen camaros, and was hoping you guys could get me started with some suggestions on what I should do to it, what parts to get, etc...

Here's a what I can tell of it right now:
    It used to be a diesel, but the previous owner swapped in a 350, I think he took out the 700r4 at the same time cause it doesn't have overdrive, so I'm guessing its a th350 now. I think it has 10 bolts in front and rear and not sure which transfer case.

I would like to be able to drive this on the highway and around town, but it won't be a daily driver, but I have a place up on the rubicon and would like to play around with it up there alittle bit. I'm not trying to take it all the way to Tahoe, just want to have some fun. Eventually I would like to use it to tow a jeep up there when I get one, so sooner or later towing ability is going to come up.

I'm going to build a 355 or 383 for it, haven't decided which yet, and figured I will need to get the tranny rebuilt or buy a built up one, I was thinking about trying to put a 700 back in it for overdrive or maybe a 4l80? I was thinking about a 6" lift and 35" tires, any suggestions for the lift? I really have no idea what to do with the axles, transfer case, gears, lockers, etc as that is all new to me so any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm hoping to have about 5k to put into it once I sell my 91 z28.

sorry its so long, thanks

Mo

2. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned