Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Where to work on my K5???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by grimjaw, Oct 10, 2004.

1. grimjaw

grimjaw 1/2 ton status

I am a novice a best with a wrench. I can build computers in my sleep but I have never done much more than change oil and plugs on a truck. Overall I am good with this type work but there will be a lot of research and trail and error. I figure that a job that would take some one an hour will take me 3-4 depending on bad luck. When I started with computers I could leave a project in parts all over the living room and work at my own pace. Now I live in a condo with no garage. I can not do major work that will take me more than a few hours in the parking lot. I can’t be the only person stuck without a place to work. I would like to know what other people in apartments and condos do for work space. I have thought about renting a large storage unit to work in but that seems expensive and the lack of power outlets would be an issue. Any thoughts on this would be helpful thanks.

2. k20

k20 3/4 ton status

have a friend who's got a driveway? Perhaps is interested in workin on cars? See if theyll let you 'borrow' their driveway.

3. B_to_C

B_to_C 1/2 ton status Author

Ditto what K20 said... that's what I do! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

4. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

I live in a townhouse with a single open carport. Until about two years ago I did everything there...neighbors be damned.

About two years ago my best friends cousin converted an old horse barn into a small shop about 45 minutes from here. We began working on our stuff there.