Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Which is better?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by NcRedneckJimmy, Apr 24, 2006.

1. NcRedneckJimmy

NcRedneckJimmy Registered Member

I have noticed a lot of people do not like body lifts on here! I am a college student, I do a lot of daily driving and a little wheelin' every now and then. I am on a tight budget and am debating on either running a 3" body lift with 33's or 4" shackle flip with 4" springs up front. Which would be the best/cheaper way to go?

2. 1979jimmy350

1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

it all depends on a few things. for one you can run 33's with no lift at all, if you are looking at 4 inch suspension lift then you would be better off with 35's if your current gears can handle it. If you can get the money suspension would be your better bet, you can get a complet kit from jc whitney for around 315 shipped then all you have to do is add a shackel filp which can be almost free if you do a hombrew version

3. yoshisv

yoshisv 1/2 ton status

I ran 33's on my 89 k5 for a few years with no lift, And very little cutting of the fender wells. Never had any problems. Hope this helps.

4. NcRedneckJimmy

My gears are 3.08, should the be able to run the 4" with no problem, powered by a 305?

5. 1979jimmy350

with 3.08's and a 305 you will really want to regear with 33's or it's going to be a real dog

6. NcRedneckJimmy

What gears should I run with at least 33's? Sorry, new to offroading?

7. 1979jimmy350

well it depends, what tranny are you running, is it still a daily driver? do you plan on going to bigger tires in the future? Also what type of truck do you have?

8. Kyle Strong

Kyle Strong 1/2 ton status