Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

which ram for hydro-assist?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by muddybuddy, Nov 28, 2005.

  1. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    hey there, im in the process of putting my truck back together, and want to do hydro assist while im at it. which ram's and what size are you guys running?
     
  2. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,991
    Likes Received:
    130
  3. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,029
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    I run a West Texas Offroad hydro assist system, works great for me.

    j
     
  4. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    someone was talking about a 2.5" ram on pirate in that thread above, where could i find one of those? i know i want at least a 2", is it worth the extra $ to get a 2.5"? who makes one?
     
  5. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I can lift my truck with a 2" ram, no reason to go 2.5". I wouldn't recommend 2" for the street.
     
  6. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I run a 1.5"x8" stroke ram from Rocklogic. The shaft is bigger then WTO's and it doesnt leak :D Lines that came with the kit suck though. I ended up getting new lines and fittings from WTO.
     
  7. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Ow and I can turn my 42's with my pinky :D
     
  8. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    If you can get enough force out of a 1.5" ram, that's the way to go. Seriously, zipping down trails behind short wheelbase jeeps becomes a hell of a ride when your steering doesn't want to turn. If I give it a second to react I can lift the truck sideways with one finger on the wheel. But for anything higher than trail speed it's slow.
     
  9. big94gmc

    big94gmc 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    3,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    No VA.
    I'd suggest finding yourself a 2x8 stroke ram....plenty of power for the assist you want to run, and when you decide to step up to full, you're set, 'cause that'll be enough.
     
  10. muddyblzr

    muddyblzr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    houston/san antonio texas
    look into tractor supply rams. 2x8 ram 70$ ive never heard anyone have a problem with them. and it will work for hydro assist or full hydro

    also chief makes a 2x8 ram that is 50$ backyardbuilt runs one on this board. i dont know anyting about chief though. its about the same as the tractor supply i think

    if you want a double-ended ram wagoneer machine shop has them for 150$. seems pretty cheap for what it is.

    im probably gonna do the tractor supply ram when i do full hydro
     
  11. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Chief is a tractor ram from what I've seen. I picked mine up at the local farm store.
     
  12. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    He DD's his truck.
    2" ram is not good.
     
  13. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    x 18,000
     
  14. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    really? why would a 2" be so bad for a dd? seems like it would have more steering power than the 1.5" :crazy:
     
  15. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    It does but it has a slow reaction time.
     
  16. muddyblzr

    muddyblzr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    houston/san antonio texas
    x3 it will provide more turning power but is too slow for steet driving
     
  17. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    so a 1.5 can move faster? what about a 1.75? thanks guys, im learning alot :D
     
  18. GM Man

    GM Man 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver CO
    muddyblzr is right it is too slow. Imagine your on a icy road and you have to make some quick changes to the steering wheel, you better get it right on the first try, cause thats all your going to get with a 2" ram.
     
  19. muddyblzr

    muddyblzr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    houston/san antonio texas
    one thing that you could do to make the steering quicker is find a smaller steering wheel. you lose some of your leverage but with hydro assist it shouldnt affect anything. might help turn quicker
     
  20. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Not if the ram refuses to turn. Have you driven a rig with a hydro setup? (not trying to be a dick, honestly asking)

    If you try and turn the wheel faster than the pump can deliver fluid to the ram, you're not turning anywhere. You've just gotta wait for the ram to catch up, it's just not possible to turn faster than the hydraulics are allowing you to.
     

Share This Page