Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

White exhaust smoke

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by PerdidoK5, Aug 16, 2002.

1. PerdidoK5

PerdidoK5 1/2 ton status

I have a 79 K5 with a stock 350. Upon acceleration, I get a decent amount of white smoke. It runs good, if a bit weak. I intend on a complete rebuild in the future but not right now. Do any of ya'll have advise? Could it be a carberator adjustment? So far, I have replaced the plugs and the pcv. It has a new filter and fresh oil. I can do the work but Im no diagnostic expert. /forums/images/icons/confused.gif

2. nvrenuf

nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

Bad news : white smoke comes from water. Does it do it all the time or only when initially cranked and warming up? If it's doing it all the time thats a bad sign, there's water getting in the cylinder somehow (bad head gasket, crack, etc.). /forums/images/icons/frown.gif

3. Sandman

Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

Woof. Hopefully its just a head gasket and not a cracked head or block. At the minimum, your going to have to make plans on pulling the heads. Another way to check is to fill your radiator all the way to the top and then run it letting it heat up with the cap off. Look for bubbles or some sort of aeration of the water. This does not alway work but can be a useful tool.

4. BIG STEVE

BIG STEVE Registered Member

I agree with previous posts water for sure the bubbles
    will tell you.
    If your going to rebuild in near future dump a couple tubes of alumiseal in in it.
    we took a 78k5 from work hunting years ago somthing cracked or blew out on way up looked like it was steam powerd
    put some sealant in cleard up in short order and lasted as a parts getter for the 3 years we used it till sold maybe longer. if head gasket might not seal.