Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

white smoke and bog

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by blasterD, Apr 15, 2004.

1. blasterD

blasterD 1/2 ton status

I'm pretty new to the diesel scene. I bought an 84 k30 with a 6.2 and a 465. It has a 4" Skyjacker lift and 315/70-17 tires (about 35-12.5) abd 4.10 gear ratio. It starts and runs good, but my fuel mileage is a litle less than I think it should be. I'm getting about 12-13 mpg with combined city/highway. I'm pretty sure the 4.10's and no overdrive contribute a lot to the mileage problem (cruise rpm on the highway is about 2600-2700rpm), but there is another problem. During hard acceleration 1/2-3/4 throttle (usually when the engine is not fully up to temp) I get an intermittent bog. As soon as the engine bogs, white smoke comes out the exaust. If I let off and then get back into it the bog and smoke go away. It doesn't happen very often, and when it does happen it only lasts 1-2 seconds. Does anybody have any ideas? I was thinking that it may be a short drop in fuel pressure possibly due to a bad injector pump or plugged fuel filter. Does a lean condition in a diesel cause white smoke? /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

2. azblazor

azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

White smoke is usually associated with UN burned fuel. Such as when the diesel is started. You might have a condition which is causing a cylinder to not combust it's fuel load....maybe a valve train issue? Any problems with loss of coolant (head gasket)? Have you done a compression test(rings and valves)?

3. BlueBlazer

BlueBlazer 1/2 ton status

If its intermittant like that I am thinking it could be water in the fuel.

4. blasterD

blasterD 1/2 ton status