Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Who actaully has rear caddy calipers in the rear?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by rugger03, Oct 10, 2003.

1. rugger03

rugger03 1/2 ton status

I've been hearing conflicting stories, On wether caddy calipers will efectivley hold a truck with the mechanical ebrake. I've been told that you cant get enough leverage on the arm no matter hom tight you pull it. So i want to hear if you have them, or have first hand knowledge from working on them if they work or what it takes them to work. Any infor mation is appreciated.

Cheers, rugger

Once again no third hand stories please

2. Batmanjr

Batmanjr 1/2 ton status

I actually have them on the rear of my truck.... But the Ebrake isn't hooked up yet.... So I have no first hand knowledge... A good friend of mine uses them and he has broken one of the pins that go into the caliper by using it as a cutting brake.... You be the judge... /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

3. slider

slider 1/2 ton status

I have them on mine, holds good enough for me. If your trying to rate them against the stock drum brake for holding power they will never hold as good as the drum parking brake system because the drum shoes have more surface holding area.

4. TX Mudder

TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

I have them. I have the ebrake hooked up.
    I never had drum ebrake functioning so I don't know how it compares, but i can kill the trucks' engine (manual tranny) by hitting the ebrake at a slow crawl.

5. 45acp

45acp 1/2 ton status

Mike, How about a complete run down on how you got that kind of holding power. Some pictures would also be nice.

6. Stoopalini

Stoopalini 1/2 ton status