Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

who has built a 383

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by S. Burnham, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. S. Burnham

    S. Burnham Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hattiesburg, ms
    so i put my crank in and i am checking my clearance btween my rods and my cam. I have 6inch rods and they are hitting the cam lobe. they have alredy been ground at an angle by site up next to a 400 rod. my question is are you supposed to check the clearance with the timing chain on or position the cam to the nearest point. i have not put my chain on yet. i put the cam lobe to the nerest point and rotated the crank. if you are supposed to have the chain on when checking the clearances that means that a 383 is an interferance motor. If the chain breaks or you jump time then you are screwed because the cam is going to get messed up and probable a rod. i know a small bass circle cam will solve this problem but that is not an option right now. if it is just an interferance motor that is fine i just was not aware of that. does any one have an answer or did i confuse everyone, i don't type well so it is hard for me to explain things sometimes.

    thanks for any help
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Small base circle cam is the only option I know of. Not certain if setting timing and running it as an interference engine will do the job. 6" robs with a 383 is a tight squeeze.
     
  3. S. Burnham

    S. Burnham Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hattiesburg, ms
    i guess i will wait untill my machine shop opens in the mornng and find out from him. he said i could grind more off the rods i just don't know if have to because of not knowing which way to check the clearance. the kit was supposed to have come with 5.7 rods but he sent 6.0. i decided to go with them because i read several articals that it was a better setup for durability and power. I think i read to much. nothing i ever read works the same when i try it.
     
  4. BadBob

    BadBob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lyndon, KS
    do it with the timing chain on
     
  5. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    You MUST have the timing chain installed and timed properly. Removing or installing the cam on a 383 even requires that you rotate the cam as you go, to get the lobes past rods that get in the way. :eek1:
     
  6. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    There are only 2 cam lobes that interfere with a rod. If you use a 400 rod and a 350 piston you don't have any problems but when you use a 350 rod and a special piston or an aftermarket 6" rod and a special piston there you have to clearance the rods in those 2 cylinders to clear the cam but people clearance all the rods to keep the weights the same on all rods. Also just a reminder that a 6" rod in a 383 puts the wrist pin into the oil ring and you must use a pin to keep the oil ring from rotating.
     
  7. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    very good point, if you were suppossed to get 5.7 rods did you get the pistons that go with the 6" rods and as well?
     

Share This Page