Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Who has done a TBI swap onto a carb Motor?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by zakk, Dec 28, 2001.

  1. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    Just wondering so i know who to bug when i start the swap[​IMG]

    any advice/things to look for or change would be appreciated!

    -zakk

    '77 1-Ton K5

    [​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I swapped out the entire carb motor for a TPI 'vette motor. Even used the 'vette wiring harness. Is that close enough? [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Oh yeah, my current project is to replace a TBI 350 with a TBI 454. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  4. juanblzer

    juanblzer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    would you happen to be selling the tbi off that 350 or the whole setup?

    chrome sucks
     
  5. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    i am just swapping the TBI, computers, wiring, etc. onto my '77.

    -zakk

    '77 1-Ton K5

    [​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]
     
  6. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Try all or some of these links -

    www.turbocity.com
    www.jagsthatrun.com
    '79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<a target="_blank" href=http://www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com>www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com
     
  7. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Gonna re-use about everything but the actual throttle body itself. The harness and computer should work with the 454. It'll just need a different chip to make it run right. Haven't decided what I'm going to do with the 350 throttle body yet. I've already picked up a 454 throttle body. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  8. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Just make sure that you have all of the various sensors from the donor engine. Each connector is unique, so it's pretty hard to plug anything in wrong. I had to add 5 or 6 circuits to get power to the right places (Injectors, ECM, EGR solenoid, etc). Other than that, all the other connections are direct between the ECM and the engine. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  9. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Carb to TBI swap?
    You could PM or ask 1FNHIK5. I know he has done this with a little help from some friends...
    I think i remember him saying that was the best upgrade he ever did to his blazer.
    Damn right. I plan to go with fuel injection sometime in the near future.

    [Real Men Don't Care About Gas Milage Or Rapid Tire Wear!]
    Ryan B.
     
  10. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Harry.
    If you are using the 350 harness, I think you will need a Idle air controll adapter. The IAC on the 454 TB is different than the one on the 350 . Turbocity.com makes the adapter, 350 harness to 454 TB if you need one. Its just a wire you plug inbetween the harness and the IAC

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Thunders-Blaze> Blazer pics</a>
     
  11. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    so should be using that harness?

    -zakk

    '77 1-Ton K5

    [​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]
     
  12. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I noticed that the IAC motors are different. Wonder what the heck GM was thinking when they did that? [​IMG] I'll have to give the folks at Turbo City a call about the adapter. Thanks for the tip!

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  13. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    I found my turbocity book. That adapter's part no is 975-325 cost 19.95 hope that helps.

    Zack
    What are you doing with that TBI ?
    Are you putting it on the 400 engine that is in your profile?
    If so. The 350 harness will work fine on the 400 but you will need to get a PROM chip for the computer with fuel profiles that will work on a 400.
    The computer on the 350 system is set up for the fuel needs of a 350. Also the cam is a lot diferent in a TBI 350 compaired to a Carbed 400.You will be able to put everything on and it should run but it proababally wont develop full power with out a custom chip.
    You will also need to put a O2 sensor in the exhaust. Add a TBI fuel punp. I think the in tank kind are the best but are a hassle to install. you can get a inline one but I think they dont last as long as the in tank ones. But they are alot easier to replace. And add a fuel return line that goes from the TBI back to the tank. you may have to get the late model sending unit also with the fuel return fitting

    I would give turbocity.com a call and tell them what you are doing they'll point you in the right direction. They have the chips, injectors, pumps, and TBI adapter plate for your 400 manifold if you need them.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Thunders-Blaze> Blazer pics</a>
     
  14. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    thanks Dale &amp; Harry. i appreciate the help and suggestions[​IMG]

    I have looked into the cam and such, an internally stock400 shuld push the PROM, but it would adjust to a slightly bigger cubed engine. TBI PROM's have the ability toadjust well. If i had a big cam, heads and such, it would HAVE to have a PROM. this is from my 1 week of research, but i will give the turbociy.com guys a call. thanks again!

    -zakk

    '77 1-Ton K5

    [​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page