Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Who has had their truck dyno tuned?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by K5MONSTERCHEV, Apr 12, 2006.

  1. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Im curious who has had their truck dyno tuned, how much it cost and what it entailed. What setup did you get tuned? I have a Speed density TPI system I am going to get dyno tuned here shortly. I got a chip burned from Street and Performance, and it isn't right, never has been. I get code 43 which turns out to be a faulty chip, so I am just going to dyno tune the thing. There is a place we deal with will do it for 475. Then after I see where it makes its power ill re gear it, since my powerband changed after installing the TPI. Any input, comments or questions?
     
  2. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    for around 200 you could get a chip burner and data log hardware and you could be burnig your own chips, you won't have the benifit of knowing the dyno numbers but you could by trial and error get your self a lot better chip than you already have
     
  3. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Yes, I thought about that, for a minute, but really I cant be bothered with it. Its not somehting im going to do all the time, for me it would be easier and quicker to take it to the shop and let them tune it, then to mess around with that stuff.
     
  4. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Burt had his dyno tuned. PM him and he can give you the details. IIRC it was only like $200.00-$250.00
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    How do they compensate for drag under cruising conditions with a dyno? Do they have the ability to do that on a dyno?
     
  6. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,090
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    Sure. All the engine cares about is load and rpm and the dyno can be any load at any speed. I think the question is how much care they put into tuning all areas of speed/load.
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Yeah, essentially what I was wondering. I figured they could adjust the load, just never spent any time around a dyno.

    I guess I'm just used to the dyno graphs you see, that's just a WOT blast isn't it?

    Obviously worthless for a cruising tune, but if they vary the load then I can see how they would "dial in" the truck for all conditions.
     
  8. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    I sent you a PM
    here is the graphs I got when they were done:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Ya they can adjust the load as needed. They could have spent all day tuning my EFI setup. I only had him tune for WOT, wich covers most all driving that I plan on doing:haha:
    If I had the 100bucks an hour to spend he could have tuned for Hwy & fuel economy, Lowend towing and wide open. For me rompin on the gass and cruzing down the trail is what I was after so I asked him to get the WOT setup dialed in and forget the rest.
    Seamed to work out great as my K5 is alot of fun to drive and has tons of torque right off idel:D
    Well worth the 200 bucks I spent.
    Have fun
    Burt
     
  9. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Holy crap, that thing was lean!

    I hope folks planning on fuel injection swaps can appreciate just how far lean that engine was by those graphs!
     
  10. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Ya thats what the EFI tech said..HOLY CRAP!
    With that lean AFR the engine would have burnt up very quickly.
    Crazy thing is it still ran great..or atleast I thought it ran great :eek1:
    I learned alot about AFR that day :D
     
  11. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,090
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    I believe they use closed-loop control over speed. Then they measure torque. So you can do it at any throttle setting and get the torque output at every engine speed.
     
  12. 71 Blazer

    71 Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    windsor virginia
    I'm sure it did run great, "leaner is meaner" a friend of mine used to say.
     

Share This Page